Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Ghana Energy Award: NAPO's ministry wins the prestigious Excellence in Leadership and Governance.

Under the dynamic leadership of the minister for Energy, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh (NAPO), the ministry is fast taking a commanding lead in ensuring a robust and efficient energy sector in the country. 

It is therefore not surprising that, the ministry has this year received the excellence in Leadership and Governance Award at the 5th edition of the prestigious Ghana Energy Awards event, held in Accra. 

The event is organised to award and recognise individuals and corporate organisation and agencies within the energy community for their diverse role in promoting a secure, affordable and stable energy sector. 

The awards scheme further seeks to celebrate the tremendous work of competing players under the various award categories.

The Manhyia member of Parliament, in leading the implementation of government's policies for the upstream and downstream energy sector, has through the digitalisation agenda met this year's theme; “Digitalised Energy Sector: The Key for a Resilient Economic Future”.

Touching on the theme, NAPO says, the innovative Local Content E-Portal System introduced by the ministry allows for companies operating in the upstream petroleum industry to submit their local content plans and reports in real-time.

At the downstream level, the National Petroleum Authority’s (NPA), National Retail Outlet Fuel Monitoring System launched by the Vice President “makes it virtually impossible for OMCs to receive smuggled fuel.”

Receiving the award on behalf of the ministry, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh says, the government remains focused on digitalisation in all sectors as an important catalyst in promoting a resilient economy. 

At the event, former President John Agyekum Kufuor and late President Jerry John Rawlings were honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of their contribution to the development of Ghana’s energy sector.

Other individual awardees include Mr. Emmanuel Antwi Darkwa, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of VRA and Mrs. Cynthia Lumor, Deputy Managing Director of Tullow Ghana.

Content created and supplied by: adizaawudu (via Opera News )

Accra. Excellence in Leadership Ghana Energy Award Manhyia Matthew Opoku Prempeh


Load app to read more comments