Sign in
Download Opera News App



Secondary Education


Past Winner of The National Science and Maths Quiz (1994-2019)

The National Science and Maths Quiz (NSMQ) is an annual science and mathematics national level quiz competition for senior high schools in Ghana. The National Science & Maths Quiz seeks to promote the study of science and mathematics while helping students develop a habit for asking and questioning everything around them. All these are done along with promoting a healthy competition among students of different senior high schools.

Formerly known as "Brillant Soap" or “Brilla”, the National Science and Maths Quiz is the longest running educational programme on Ghanaian television. The first quiz mistress was the late Professor Marian Ewurama Addy, professor of biochemistry at the University of Ghana, Legon (1993-2000).

Dr. Eureka Emefa Adomako, a botanist at the University of Ghana, Legon, became quiz mistress from 2001 to 2005 and Dr. Elsie Effah Kaufmann, the Head of the Biomedical Engineering Department at the University of Ghana, has been quiz mistress since 2006.

Presbyterian Boys' Secondary School, (PRESEC-Legon) is the most successful school in the quiz so far, with five titles. Together with the St. Peter's Senior Secondary School, PRESEC has been to the finals a record 8 times. Achimota School is the only unisex school to have won the competition so far. No all-girls school has ever won the competition. Only 11 schools out of the more than 900 senior high schools in Ghana have won the competition since its inception.

The National Science and Maths Quiz was awarded the CIMG TV Programme of the Year in 2017.Below are your winners from every year. In 2010 and 2011, no competition was held.

Prempeh College - 1994

Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School - 1995

Prempeh College - 1996

Opoku Ware School - 1997

Achimota School - 1998

Mfantsipim School - 1999

St. Peter’s Secondary School - 2000

Pope John Secondary School - 2001

Opoku Ware School - 2002

Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School - 2003

Achimota School - 2004

St. Peter’s Secondary School - 2005

Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School - 2006

St. Augustine’s College - 2007

Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School - 2008

Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School - 2009

Ghana Secondary Technical School - 2012

St. Thomas Aquinas Secondary School - 2013

Mfantsipim School - 2014

Prempeh College - 2015

Adisadel College - 2016

Prempeh College - 2017

St. Peter’s Senior High School - 2018

St. Augustine’s College - 2019

Did you find your school among the list? When is a Girls' school going to win?

Content created and supplied by: The_Patriot (via Opera News )

Elsie Effah Kaufmann Eureka Emefa Adomako Marian Ewurama Addy Maths Quiz National Science and Maths Quiz


Load app to read more comments