Sign in
Download Opera News App



College Education


New Education Reforms Outline

Summary of New Education Reforms outline by the Ministry of Education(MoE), Ghana Education service(GES) and National council for curriculum Assessment

1. Kindergarten, primary school, JHS and SHS shall all be described as basic schools. JHS 1,2,3, and SHS 1 now be referred as BS 7,8,9, and 10 respectively i.e SHS 1 shall be called BS 10

2. All students in JHS 1 - SHS 1 shall run a common core programme called CCP which comprises of 9 subjects; namely- Maths,Languages, Science, RME (stand alone subject), Physical and Health Education ( not examinable), Carrer Technology, Social Studies, Computing and Creative Art and Design.

3. A new examination called National Standard Assessment Test (NSAT) shall be conducted at primary 2,4,6 and JHS 2

4. BECE shall be replaced by placement exams at JHS 3 to enroll students into shs 1

5. Students in SHS 1 shall continue to run the common core programme for one year thus students into SHS 1 shall not select Science, Business or Arts programmes.

6. At the end of SHS 1, students shall write a common core Exams into SHS 2

7. At SHS 2, students will now have to select either a carrer related programme which include, vocational and tecnicla programmes or a high school Diploma programmes such as science, business, arts

8. This means Elective subjects shall starts in SHS 2

9. Wassce will be replaced by a university entrance exams at SHS 3

10. Students after successful completion of SHS 3 will be awarded a Diploma Certificate instead of WASSCE certificate

Content created and supplied by: (via Opera News )

BS JHS Ministry of National SHS


Load app to read more comments