Sign in
Download Opera News App



College Education


NSMQ : Prempeh College crown 2021 NSMQ champions after a hard fought victory over PRESEC and KETASCO

The Kumasi based SHS and four times National Science and Maths Quiz champions Prempeh College have dumped the dream of last years winner PRESEC Legon and the highly spirited Ketasco to emerge 2021 NSMQ champions in one of the toughest battle between the trio.

The competition became tougher and exciting from the beginning where various schools across the length and breadth of the country teamed up in different contest from the preliminary stage up to the grand finale today.

Prempeh College was among the quarter finalist comprising of the 27 schools below;

1. Sonrise SHS

2. Bolgatanga SHS

3. St Peters SHS

4. Chemu SHS

5. St Augustine's College

6. Kanton SHS

7. Swedru SHS

8. Techiman SHS

9. PRESEC-Legon

10. Keta SHS

11. St Louis SHS

12. Ghana National College

13. Pope John Min-Sem. SHS

14. Wesley Girls SHS

15. Konongo-Odumase SHS

16. Tamale SHS

17. Kumasi Academy

18. Adisadel College

19. Accra Academy


21. Ola SHS, Ho

22. Prempeh College

23. Sogakope SHS

24. Kumasi Anglican

25. Ghana SHS, Koforidua

26. Oda SHS

27. Opoku Ware School.

The results for the semi-finals was superb and fascinating looking at how PRESEC-Legon with 50 points torn apart St Peters SHS and Chemu SHS who accumulated 34 and 21 points respectively.

On the other semi-finals, Keta Senior High Technical School with 53 points outclassed the Cape Coast sensationals Wesley Girls High School and Tamale SHS with 35 and 31 points respectively.

The last semi- finalist was dubbed the Kumasi derby where Prempeh College with 67 points outwitted his rivals Opoku Ware School, last years finalist and KNUST SHS with 59 and 38 points respectively.

Prempeh College has always been one of the finest and favourite for this competition looking at the number of accolades they have uniquely and vastly won for themselves totalling to four trophies.

Today, in the just ended grand finale, Prempeh aggressively cruised past their fierce rivals PRESEC-Legon and Ketasco in a more fashionable scene to make it 5 since 1994, the year they won the title for the first time in the maiden edition.

The 2021 National Science and Maths Quiz was hosted by the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, KNUST one of the best tertiary institution in the country and the world.

A total of 146 schools entered into the competition which was trimmed to 81 schools, then to the quarter finals with 27 schools, 9 schools for the Semi finals and the finalist Prempeh College, PRESEC-Legon and the pride and consolation of the Volta Region Ketasco.

Among the dignitaries presented were the Asekyerehene Nana Professor Mensah Bonsu, the representative for the Chancellor of KNUST and the King of Ashanti, His Royal Majesty Otumfour Osei Tutu II, Headmasters for the three finalist, Media Houses, old students and many others

The supporters and other fan base stormed the KNUST auditorium to cheer up their schools as they motivated their schools with unadulterated 'jama' songs as one of the decisive tools to filling their schools with the greatest enthusiasm and morale boost.

At the end of the first round of the NSMQ, PRESEC-Legon obtained 19 points whereas Ketasco gathered 15 points.

Ketasco at the begining caused a massive stir by jumping straight to the top where Francisca Lamini and Bright Senyo Gadzo brilliantly answered certain questions but later countenance an unfortunate circumstance where they started getting their answers wrongly.

At the end of the second round which was named the speed race, PRESEC-Legon increased their tally to 26 whiles Ketasco obtained 13 as their 15 points they gathered in the first round diminished into 13 after answering some questions wrongly as the rule depicted and Prempeh College moving up to 21 points

Ketasco wasn't impressive at all and it seems there was a power outage at Prempeh College and PRESEC-Legon campuses whiles the three contestants were busily solving the problem of the day.

As the third round came underway, which was dubbed the problem of the day, PRESEC-Legon and Ketasco accrued 7 points each but Prempeh College miraculously scored 10 out of 10 taking the scores to 33 for PRESEC-Legon, 31 for Prempeh College and 20 for Ketasco

The defending champions PRESEC presented the last year trophy in the midst of the contestant by one of 2020 contestant from PRESEC-Legon.

PRESEC-Legon and Ketasco made a substitution bringing in both James Lutterodt for Keta and Joel Yahyra Aboagye

The round four which was a true or false questions started well for both PRESEC and Prempeh College but for Ketasco it was a disaster. Prempeh College got all their answers right taking the points to 47 for Prempeh College, 46 for PRESEC and 28 points for Ketasco.

The jubilation became wild for Nana Boakye aka Nana B who cheered up for Prempeh College when they excelled in the competition.

Finally, Prempeh College clinch the 2021 NSMQ with 53 points against PRESEC-Legon with 49 and Ketasco 30 for the 5th time. Congratulations Prempeh College.

Content created and supplied by: Kwakus (via Opera News )

Chemu SHS Kumasi NSMQ Prempeh College St Peters SHS


Load app to read more comments