Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Top 4 SHS with most Top Lawyers and Politicians in Ghana at the moment (Read more)

In fact, the Ghanaian second-cycle institutions have really played very critical roles in the lives of many young men and women in the country.

This fundamentally explains the kind of indestructible alliance and partnership old students have with their respective secondary schools.

Most of the renovation and impactful projects we see in these schools today are being championed by the alumni associations, as a way of giving back to the school.

Kudos particularly to all the teachers who identify areas of specialization and excellence of these young ones, groom and train them to become holistic beings and better version of themselves in society.

Particularly in this article, we are going to appreciate four schools who have groomed their students to become top/renowned lawyers and politicans in the country at the moment.

We will as well familiarize ourselves with some of these notable alumni of each of the four top schools on our list.

The first school on the list is Mfantsipim School in Cape Coast, Central Region of Ghana.

Some of the top judges and lawyers the school has produced so far include:

1. Tsatsu Tsikata, Ghana's reigning and renowned Legal Practitioner

2. Edmund Alexander Landquaye Bannerman, Fourth Chief Justice of Ghana

3. Isaac Kobina Abban, Nineth Chief Justice of Ghana and former Chief Justice of Seychelles

4. Theodore Kwami Adzoe, Chief Justice of Ghana's Apex Court (from 2000 to 2008)

5. William Bruce-Lyle, Justice of Ghana's Apex Court and Supreme Court of Zambia

6. John Mensah Sarbah, Lawyer and Academician

7. Joe Ghartey, Lawyer and Ghana's former Attorney General

8. Papa Owusu Ankomah, Former Attorney General of Ghana

9. Isaac Wuaku, Retired judge of Ghana's Apex Court

10. Samuel Okai Quashie Idun, former Justice of Ghana's Apex Court, former Chief Justice of the High Court of Western Nigeria and Former President of Eastern Africa Court of Appeal


1. William Ofori-Atta, Member of the Big Six (Founding Fathers)

2. Joseph W.S de Graft-Johnson, Former Vice-President of Ghana (from 1979 to 1981)

3. Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah, MP for Takoradi Constituency and Western Regional Minisiter.

4. Kwesi Amissah-Arthur, former Vice-President of Ghana

5. Kow Nkensen Arkaah, Former Vice-President of Ghana (from 1993 to 1997)

6. Kofi Abrefa Busia, Prime Minisiter of Ghana

7. Boakye Agyarko, Former Ghanaian Minisiter for Energy

8. Edwin Nii Lante Vanderpuye, MP for Odododiodio Constituency

9. George Emmanuel Kwesi Aikins, Former Attorney General of Ghana

10. Kwamena Bartels, Former Minisiter of State during Kufuor's Administration.

2. Achimota School, Accra, Ghana.

Notable Alumni in the Legal Profession:

1. Anna Bossman, Former Acting Commissioner of the Commission on Human Rights and Administrative Justice (CHRAJ)

2. Samuel Kofi Date-Bah, Supreme Court Justice of Ghana (from 2003 to 2013)

3. Annie Ruth Jiagge, First woman to become a lawyer in Ghana

4. Justice Akua Kuenyehia, First African to become Chief Justice of the World Court at the Hague

5. George MCvane Richard Francois, former Judge of Ghana's Apex Court

6. Thomas A. Mensah, First President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea 

7. Gertrude Torkornoo, current Judge of the Supreme Court of Ghana

8. Dr. Seth Twum, Judge of Supreme Court of Ghana (from 2002 to 2007)


1. Kwadwo Afari-Gyan, Former Electoral Commissioner of Ghana

2. Daniel Francis Annan, First Speaker of Parliament of the Fourth Republic of Ghana

3. Komla Agbeli Gbedemah, Former Finance Minisiter of Ghana who led in the construction of the Akosombo Dam 

4. Alan John Kwadwo Kyeremanten, current Minisiter for Trade and Industry of Ghana

5. Yaw Osafo-Maafo, Africa's Best Finance Minisiter in 2001

6. Gloria Amon Nikoi, First Female Minisiter of Foreign Affairs of Ghana

7. Ekwow Spio Garbrah, Former Minisiter of Trade and Industry, Former Ambassador to the United States and Former Minisiter of Education.

3. Mfantsiman Girls' Secondary School in Saltpond in Central Region of Ghana.

Legal Experts:

1. Joy Henrietta Mensa-Bonsu, Member of the United Nations Independent Panel on Peace Operations, Current Judge of Ghana's Apex Court and a Law Professor

2. Joyce Bawah Mogtari, Legal Practitioner and Former Deputy Minister of Transport

3. Alima Mahama, Lawyer and Former Minisiter for the Affairs of Women and Children in the country

4. Lovelace Johnson, Current Judge of Ghana's Supreme Court

5. Sophia Akuffo, 13th Chief Justice of Ghana

6. Mabel Agyemang, First Female Chief Justice of The Gambia (from 2013 to 2014) and Chief Justice of the Turks and Caicos Islands

8. Sophia Ophelia Adjeibea Adinyira, Former Judge of Ghana's Apex Court (from 2006 to 2019)

9. Lovelace Johnson, current Judge of Ghana's Apex Court

10. Rose Constance Owusu, Judge of Ghana's Supreme Court (from 2008 to 2014)

11. Georgina Theodora Wood, First Female Chief Justice of Ghana.


1. Her Excellency Samira Bawumia, Current Second Lady of Ghana

2. Professor Jane Naana Opoku-Agyemang, First Female Running Mate of Ghana's Major Political Party, the National Democratic Congress

3. Gladys Asmah, Former Ghana's Minisiter of Fisheries

4. Ama Ata Aidoo, Former Minisiter of Education, Ghana

5. Zanetor Agyeman-Rawlings, MP for Klottey Korle Constituency

6. Mary Grant, Ghana's First Female Council of State Member

7. Hannah Tetteh, Former Minisiter of Trade and Industry, and Former Minisiter for Foreign Affairs

8. Vida Yeboah, Minisiter of State in Rawlings' Government.

4. Prempeh College, Kumasi in the Ashanti Region of Ghana.

Alumni in the Law Profession:

1. Yaw Appau, current Justice of Ghana's Apex Court

2. Kow Essuman, a Ghanaian Legal Practitioner and Assistant Secretary & Counsel at the Office of President of Ghana

3. Julius Ansah, a renowned Ghanaian Judge.


1. Dr. Matthew Opoku-Prempeh, Current Energy Minisiter of Ghana

2. John Agyekum Kufuor, Former President of the Fourth Republic of Ghana

3. Henry Nana Boakye, NPP National Youth Organizer

4. Bernard Antwi Boasiako (Chairman Wontumi), Ashanti Regional Chairman of the NPP 

5. Ato Ahwoi, Member of the Council of Elders of the Opposition National Democratic Congress

6. OB Amoah, MP for Akuapem South Constituency and Former Deputy Minister of Education & Sports

7. Maxwell Kofi Jumah, Former MP for Asokwa Constituency and Former Kumasi Mayor

8. Kwadwo Mpiani, Former Minisiter for Presidential Affairs and Chief of Staff of Ghana

9. Professor Badu Akosa, Leading Member of the Convention People's Party (CPP)

10. Kwabena Duffour, Former Minisiter of Finance

11. Kwesi Ahwoi, Former Minisiter of Interior and First Ghanaian Ambassador to Comoros.

12. Kwadwo Baah Wiredu, was a top Ghanaian politician and Chartered Accountant.

Content created and supplied by: Ghana'sthirdeye (via Opera News )

Central Region Ghana Ghanaian Kudos Mfantsipim School


Load app to read more comments