Sign in
Download Opera News App



Winners of artist of the year category since 1999 to 2021.

The historical background of Ghana music awards has started way back in 1999 which organisers of the this award scheme like Musiga and Charter House always team up to analyse and celebrate the performance of the various artists at the end of the year.

From the beginning, it was Ghana Music Awards before Vodafone Ghana became the official sponsor of the this highest awarding scheme which is now Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMA).

The were few categories of of the nominations which new categories has now increased due to the introduction of different new music genres and others. The first artist who won the artist of the year category was the rap doctor "Akyeame Kwame" and this is the highest award among all the categories.

On this article, I'm going list the musicians who ever win this prestigious award before from 1999 to 2021.

Akyeame Kwame - 1999 winner

Daddy Lumba - 2000 winner

Kojo Antwi - 2001 winner

Lord Kenya - 2002 winner

Kontihene - 2003 winner

V.I.P - 2004 winner

Obour - 2005 winner

Ofori Amponsah - 2006 winner

Samini - 2007 winner

Kwaw Kese - 2008 winner

Akyeame Kwame - 2009 winner

Sarkodie - 2010 winner

V.I.P - 2011 winner

Sarkodie - 2012 winner

R2Bees - 2013 winners

Shatta wale - 2014 winner

Stonebwoy - 2015 winner

E.L 2016 winner

Joe Mettle - 2017 winner

Ebony - 2018 winner

Shatta wale and Stonebwoy were supposed to take this award in 2019

Kuame Eugene - 2020 winner

Diana Hamilton - 2021 winner

But also, there some people who are behind every successful song from the genesis of it till now. Sound producers are the mahor key people when it comes to music and they are several sound engineers who has won best sound engineer of the year before, starting from; Zapp Mallet, Max Morris, Jay Q, Appietus, Richie Mensah, Kaywa, Killbeatz and MOG Beatz.

Meanwhile there are other great record producers who has never won this award but they are aslo heroes in the music culture. These engineers include, Hammer Of The Last Two, Guilty Beatz, Ro Ro, Nacee, Street Beatz, Possigee, Mix Master Garzy, Jam Master Jay, Beat Master, Ipapi, Kin Dee, Ball Jay Beatz, Willis Beatz, Apya Beatz, Beat Vampire, Stone B, Beatz Dakay and Sugar Tone.

Content created and supplied by: (via Opera News )

Akyeame Kwame Daddy Lumba Ghana Ghana Music Awards Kenya


Load app to read more comments