Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Africa politics

Meet Presidential Candidates Who Have Lost In Elections Since 1960

Ghana gained Independence in the year 1957, which automatically made Dr. Kwame Nkrumah the first President of the country. The first election was conducted in the year 1960 which saw the incumbent president maintaining his seat.

Due to military rule, no election was conducted until 1992, when we were ushered into Democracy. Since 1992, elections have been conducted every 4 years, and a candidate who gains 50%+1 votes is declared as the winner.

This article is hereby prepared to look back into history and inform readers of major contenders who lost in various elections from 1960 to 2016. This article is based on findings from Ghana's election history.

• 1960 - J. B. Danquah:

He was the flagbearer for United Party. He contested against Dr. Kwame Nkrumah of the Convention People's Party on 27th April. Dr. Kwame Nkrumah won with 89.1% of votes, with J. B. Danquah gaining 10.9%.

• 1992 - Albert Adu Boahen:

He was the flagbearer for the National Patriotic Party (NPP). He contested against J. J. Rawlings of the then Progressive Alliance on 3rd November. J. J. Rawlings won with 58.4% with Albert Adu Boahen gaining 30.3%.

• 1996 - John Agyekum Kufuor:

He was the second flagbearer for the NPP. He also contested against J. J. Rawlings of the NDC on 7th December. J. J. Rawlings again won with 57.4% and J. A. Kufuor gained 39.7% of the votes casted.

• 2000 and 2004 - John Evan Atta Mills:

In both years he contested against J. A. Kufuor of the NPP, who won in all of them. In 2000, there was an election runoff of the December 7th election, on 28th December. John Evans Atta Mills lost in 2000 with 43.1% and 44.6% in 2004.

• 2008 and 2012 Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo - Addo:

In 2008, he lost after a runoff to John Evans Atta Mills by 49.8% which has been the closest so far. In 2012, he lost to John Dramani Mahama by 47.7%.

•2016 - John Dramani Mahama:

He lost as a sitting President to Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo - Addo with 44.5% of votes.

The two major contenders for this year's election have been on this list, who then will repeat the list again?      

Content created and supplied by: A.Joy (via Opera News )

Albert Adu Boahen Convention People 's Party Democracy Ghana Kwame Nkrumah


Load app to read more comments