Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Ghana Joins Eleven Other African Countries to Observe African Union Day Today

Africa Day is the yearly recognition of the establishment of the Organization of African Unity on 25 May 1963. It is celebrated in different nations on the African landmass, just as around the world. Africa Day is a day for every African country. Nonetheless, Africa Day is seen as a public occasion in just twelve African nations, Ghana, Mali, Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Angola, Chad, Comoros, Equatorial Guinea, Lesotho, Liberia and Mauritania.

Ghana today joins the other eleven African countries to observe African Union Day. Although not a public holiday for Ghanaians memories of the ideal still linger on.

This year’s theme is centered on "Arts, Culture And Heritage: Levers for Building the Africa We Want".

The celebration however comes on a backheel of a number of issues; the Covid-19 pandemic having piled up pressure on the African economy.

Just a week ago, Democratic Republic of Congo's leader Felix Tshisekedi who is likewise the current top of the African Union close by twelve other African heads of state, finished up a highest point in Paris where they contended among different issues for an increment in the Special Drawing Rights (SDR) from 33 billion dollars to 100 billion dollars.

Yet, opposing the chances by figuring out how to control the pandemic that has attacked different pieces of the world is in itself something numerous examiners acclaim the mainland for, a landmass least affected universally by the pandemic. Also, that might merit celebrating at any rate.

Content created and supplied by: VicampCreations (via Opera News )

Africa Day African Union Ghana Mali Zimbabwe


Load app to read more comments