Sign in
Download Opera News App



Countries with the most Ballon d'Or players from 1956 to 2019.

People maybe wondering why some of the football nations like Belgium, Colombia, Chile, Cameroon, Switzerland, Poland, Sweden and Mexico has never produced Ballon d'Or players, but there are 19 countries in the world that ever had Ballon d'Or players since 1956 to 2019. These players are from Europe, South America and Africa but no North America, Austria and Asia who never won this prestigious award before.


Italy is only country who has 6 Ballon d'Or players. In 1961 Omar Sivori who was a Juventus player is the first Italian to win the Ballon Award. Eusebio was the second person to win the Ballon d'Or in 1965 when he was in Benfica. Gianni Rivera won the Ballon d'Or award at AC Milan in 1969, Paolo Rossi won the award at Juventus football club in, Roberto Baggio won the Ballon d'Or at Juventus in 1993 and Fabio Cannavaro won it at Real Madrid in 2006 making it the sixth Italian player to win the Ballon d'Or.


Germany has produced 5 Ballon d'Or players from 1970 to 1996. These players are including: Gerd Muller Bayern Munich 1970 Franz Beckenbauer Bayern Munich 1972 Franz Beckenbauer Bayern Munich 1976 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge Bayern Munich 1980 Karl-Heinz Rummenigge Bayern Munich 1981

Lothar Matthaus - Inter Milan 1990

Matthias Sammer - Dortmund 1996


France has produced 4 Ballon d'Or players from 1958 to 1998.

Raymond Kopa - Real Madrid 1958

Michel Platini - Juventus 1983

Michel Platini - Juventus 1984

Michel Platini - Juventus 1985

Jean Pierre Papin - Juventus 1991

Zinedine Zidane - Juventus 1998


Brazil has also produced 4 Ballon d'Or winners from 1997 to 2007. The all time greatest striker who is now the current president of the Spanish division 2 club Real Valladolid is the first Brazilian to have won the Ballon. The list below are the total Ballon d'Or winners from Brazil.

Ronaldo Nazario - Inter Milan 1997

Rivaldo - Barcelona 1999

Ronaldo Nazario - Real Madrid 2002 Ronaldinho - Barcelona 2005

Kaka - AC Milan 2007


The South African country is one the countries that has been producing quality players and there are 2 players who has ever won this prestigious award.

Alfredo Di Stefano - Real Madrid 1959

Alfredo Di Stefano - Real Madrid 1957

Lionel Messi - Barcelona 2009

Lionel Messi - Barcelona 2010

Lionel Messi - Barcelona 2011

Lionel Messi - Barcelona 2012

Lionel Messi - Barcelona 2015

Lionel Messi - Barcelona 2019


England was the first country to have produced a Ballon d'Or before any country. They have 3 Ballon d'Or winners in history since from 1956 to 2001.

Stanley Matthews ( the wizard of dribble ) - Blackpool United 1956

Bobby Charlton - Manchester United 1966 Kevin Keegan - Hamburger 1978

Kevin Keegan Hamburger 1979

Michael Owen - Liverpool 2001


Ukraine is one the best performing football countries in Europe and they have produced 3 great Ballon d'Or winners who are;

Oleg Blokhin - Dynamo Kyiv 1975

Igor Belanov - Chornomorets Odessa

1986 Andriy Shevchenko - AC Milan 2004


Denmark has 2 Ballon d'Or players in history and they are including;

Allan Simonsen - Monchengladbach 1977 Ruud Gullit - AC Milan 1987

Marco Van Basten - AC Milan 1988

Marco Van Basten - AC Milan 1992

Marco Van Basten - AC Milan 1989


The 2 legendary players who made their debut at Real Madrid are the only people who won the Ballon d'Or award.

Luis Figo - Real Madrid 2000

Christiano Ronaldo - Manchester United 2008 Christiano Ronaldo - Real Madrid 2013

Christiano Ronaldo - Real Madrid 2014

Christiano Ronaldo - Real Madrid 2016

Christiano Ronaldo - Real Madrid 2017

Czech Republic

Josef Masopust - Dukla Praha 1962

Pavel Nedved - Juventus 2003


Luka Modric - Real Madrid 2018


Denis Law - Manchester United 1964


Johan Cruyff - Ajax Amsterdam 1971

Johan Cruyff - Barcelona 1973

Johan Cruyff - Barcelona 1974


Hristo Stoichkov - Barcelona 1994


Luis Suarez - Barcelona 1960


George Weah - AC Milan 1995


Lev Yashin - CSKA Moscow 1963


Florian Albert - Ferencvarosi Torna Club 1967

Northern Ireland

George Best - Manchester United 1968

Content created and supplied by: (via Opera News )


Load app to read more comments