Sign in
Download Opera News App



The seven wonders of the ancient world

The Seven Wonders Of The Ancient World

The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World

The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World are a testament to human ingenuity, creativity, and ambition. Historians trace the origins of this list back to the Hellenistic period when scholars, such as Herodotus around 450 BCE, compiled a ranking of the most impressive structures in their world. This list included wonders like the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus, and the Colossus of Rhodes. While only some of these wonders have survived to modern times, they continue to fascinate with their sheer grandeur and scale. 

In 2007, an initiative called New7Wonders Foundation congregated to select seven new wonders from around the world. This initiative formed from a desire to update and expand upon the original Seven Wonders list while reflecting contemporary global diversity. The resulting list included landmarks such as Petra in Jordan, Machu Picchu in Peru, and Christ the Redeemer statue in Brazil.


For Centuries, Human Civilizations Across The World Have Built And Created Cities, Buildings, Monuments, Tombs, Temples, Churches, Mosques, And Other Structures That Continue To Inspire Awe In Millions.

Despite this newer initiative, however, there is still much to learn from studying the original Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. These marvels offer insights into ancient cultures' worldviews and values while inspiring with their beauty and innovation. 

Content created and supplied by: Danielbuss (via Opera News )


Load app to read more comments