Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

Meet The Only Goalkeeper Who Won The Ballon d'Or.

Lev Ivanovich Yashin popularly known as Lev Yashin is a Soviet professional goalkeeper who won the Ballon d'or in 1963, a renowned award given to the footballer considered the best player of the year. However, Lev Yashin is often regarded by many as the greatest goalkeeper in the history of the sport.

Due to his victory, the professional goalkeeper identified as Lev Yashin became the first goalkeeper to win the Ballon d'or award in the history of football. It was really a historic moment for the professional goalkeeper identified as Lev Yashin. Who also won his fifth Soviet top league title. Despite that, no goalkeeper had ever won the award before. 

Lev Yashin was considered the best goalkeeper at that time. However, Hans Tilkowski, Gordon Banks and other were all active. Although, there was some optimism predicted that other football goalkeepers would also win it soon. 58 years later, the Soviet goalkeeper still remains the only goalkeeper who has won the Ballon d'Or.

However, many talented goalkeeper have truly deserved the Ballon d'Or since Lev Yashin won it in 1968, but the Ballon d'Or award has only favored outfielders. Although, the only five goalkeepers who have been nominated into the Ballon d'Or top three contenders since Lev Yashin's triumph in 1973 are Ivo Viktor, Oliver Kahn, Dino Zoff, Manuel Neuer and Gianluigi Buffon.

The goalkeeper identified as Lev Yashin won the Ballon d'Or in the year December, 1963. However, Lev Yashin had one of his great seasons with the Dynamo Moscow, winning their fifth league title with the goalkeeper identified as Lev Yashin as their goalie, admitting only seven goals in all 27 matches. Yashin retired from football at the age of 41. During his career. According to reports, the talented goalkeeper has kept over 250 clean sheets. And often regarded by many as the greatest goalkeeper in the history of the sport.

You're Free To Share This To Someone Who Needs To See This Article. And Also, Follow Gisthub24 For More Interesting Articles.

Content created and supplied by: Gisthub24 (via Opera News )

Ballon d'Or Gordon Banks Lev Ivanovich Yashin Lev Yashin Soviet


Load app to read more comments