Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Some MPs received Ghs200,000 each to vote in favor of the E-levy- top Ghanaian journalist alleges

The biggest political event that climaxed the activities of the eight Parliament in 2021 is the brawl that characterized the proposed E-levy. The E-levy will be one of the key things to consider when Parliament comes back from its recess. Reviewing the political activities in 2021, Kojo Yankson of Joy News, Ama Pratt, and Kwame Owusu Danso of Pan Africa TV, joined the host, David Attoh to scrutinize the political activities of the year under review, on Pan Africa TV, ( on January 6).

In his submission, Kwame Owusu Danso, among other things, spoke extensively about the brawl that characterized the E-levy. According to him, the Financial Minister, Ken Ofori-Atta parted ways with money to convince some Members of Parliament to vote in favor of the controversial E-levy.

Though he refused to mention if the supposed "bribed" MPs were members of the NDC or NPP, he maintained he had information from a very reliable source that some MPs were given money. To him, the declaration the Financial Minister made prior to the approval of the budget that he knew how to win the minority caucus to vote in favor of the E-levy was not to build consensus but to convince them with money.

"Mind you that the Financial Minister, before the budget approval, I think it was on your platform ( Joy News) and he emphatically, unequivocally and eloquently indicated to the Ghanaian people that they would find consensus, that they knew what to do to ensure that they get the support of the NDC caucus in Parliament. The kind of consensus the Financial Minister spoke about is not the kind of consensus you ( the host) are explaining ... I have heard from a very credible source that some MPs have been given Ghs200,000 each", he said

When he was questioned by the host if he had any evidence to that effect, Kwame Owusu Danso said "If I didn't have any evidence to back what I am saying, I wouldn't put it out. Whether they ( the MPs) belong to the NDC or NPP, I don't know".

Remember to follow, like, comment, and share for more updates.


Content created and supplied by: Shaker1 (via Opera News )

David Attoh E-levy Kojo Yankson Kwame Owusu Danso Pan Africa TV


Load app to read more comments