Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

LGBTQ Bill: Meet the seven lawmakers who proposed the anti-gay bill

The seven lawmakers who drafted the anti-gay bill have been revealed as Ningo-Prampram Member of Parliament, Sam Nartey George divulged how proud he is, to be part of the team. The team, which is made up of Members of Parliament have received some backlashes from LGBTQ+ activists following the drafting of the draconian bill, however the bill is likely to pass through without any significant amendment. These are the seven lawmakers,

Hon. Bedzrah Emma Kwasi

Hon. Helen Adwoa Ntoso

Hon. John Ntim Foudjour

Hon. Alhassan Suhuyini

Hon. Rita Naa Odoley Sowah

Hon. Dafeamekpor Etse Rockson Nelson

Hon. Della Sowah

Hon. Sam Nartey George

Sam George showcased the team on his page and went ahead to proclaim that, they remain open to anyone who has a memorandum on the bill to submit it to the parliamentary committee when they call for it. He also denounced their readiness to debate on the matter with any group or person as long as it's based on law, science and facts. 

This comes at the back of a heated social media argument and mutiny, after the LGBTQ+ activists opposed the bill to criminalize and deal with LGBTQ+ community in Ghana. Sam George was a target of their fierce criticisms as they opined that, the parliamentarian was a backward thinker. Nonetheless Sam George responded to the incessant attacks with some salient and flawless feedbacks.

The LGBTQ community in Ghana have been victims of violence and discrimination for sometime and they stand a greater risk of facing some harsher treatment if the bill passes through. Meanwhile, influential member of the NPP, Gabby Otchere-Darko has hinted about a possible blacklisting of Ghana by international organisations promoting hate, which the lawmakers are very aware about but remain unfazed and are confident the bill will push through.

Content created and supplied by: TheHague10 (via Opera News )

Bedzrah Emma Kwasi Helen Adwoa Ntoso John Ntim Foudjour LGBTQ Sam Nartey George


Load app to read more comments