Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

9 countries that had independence before Ghana

Ghana was one of the few African countries to gain independence from their colonial masters in the early years of decolonization in Africa. Ghana achieved independence from the British on March 6, 1957, and became a beacon of hope for other African countries seeking independence. Despite this, Ghana was neither the first African nation to achieve independence.

The following is a list of countries that were independent before Ghana.

1. Liberia

Liberia is a West African country that shared it border with Guinea to its north, Sierra Leone to its northwest, and Côte d'Ivoire to its east. Liberia declared its independence on July 26, 1847 and became the first African country to do so.

2. South Africa

South Africa had it independence on 31 May 1910 from the British people. South Africa has three capital cities: Pretoria, Bloemfontein and Cape Town. But the country's largest city is Johannesburg. 

3. Egypt

Egypt had its independence from the United Kingdom on 28 February 1922.

4. Eritrea

 Eritrea is a country in Eastern Africa, with its capital at Asmara. The country had its independence from Italy on 10th February 1947.

5. Libya 

Libya had it independence from Italy in 10 February 1947.

6. Sudan.


In 1953, Britain granted Sudan self-government. And proclaimed their independent on 1st January 1956. 

7. South Sudan

South Sudan is in East-Central Africa and had its independence on 1 January 1956 from the United Kingdom.

8. Tunisia

Tunisia is in North Africa and had its independence from France in 20 March 1956.

9. Morocco

Morocco had their independence from France on 2 March 1956.

Like, comment and share.

Content created and supplied by: Dapaah_Gh (via Opera News )

Ghana Guinea Liberia Sierra Leone South Africa


Load app to read more comments