Sign in
Download Opera News App

Politics Policy




Africa politics

Ghana's President Nana Akufu Addo Declared Winner of 2020 Presidential Elections

The New Patriotic Party's Presidential Candidate, also the incumbent president of the republic of Ghana, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufu Addo, has been declared winner of the 2020 general elections.

The NPP won with total votes of 6,730,413 representing 51.59% of total votes cast. The largest opposition leader and immediate past president Mr. John Dramani Mahama, who attempted to make a come back after spending 4 years in troubling opposition got 6,214,889 votes. This represents 47.36%, according to Jean Adukwei Mensah, Chairperson of Electoral Commission.

The election which was over by 5.00 pm GMT on 7 December 2020 took approximately 48 hours to declare the final winner, instead of the 24 hours promised earlier by the Electoral Commission.

This declaration was however without the results from Techiman South constituency which was not ready at the time of filing this report. The EC deemed the 128,018 expected votes as irrelevant to the final outcome. She therefore went ahead to declare the results nonetheless.

The declaration of the results quickly set the entire country into jubilation. The delay of the announcement had already swung people into panic mood, triggered by ceaseless press conferences from the opposition NDC which were mostly pregnant with treats.

Throughout the day, the opposition National Democratic Congress pestered Ghanaians with endless press conferences every 3 hours citing countless allegations of impropriety on the part of the EC. They succeeded in calling out their supporters to amass at the forecourt of the EC office in Accra. Ghana's military was swift to form a barricade between the EC office and the angry NDC party supporters.

The election was largely peaceful. Once again, Ghanaians have proven that they are the masters of democracy. It is high time Americans swallow their pride and re-learn democracy from Ghana.

Thanks for reading

Content created and supplied by: Ackson4Ever (via Opera News )

Electoral Commission Ghana Jean Adukwei Mensah John Dramani Mahama NPP


Load app to read more comments