Sign in
Download Opera News App



At Last The STK District Has A Presiding Member After Seven (7) Unsuccessful Attempts

Before you proceed with this article kindly follow me by clicking on the follow Option

The Sawla-Tuna-Kalba District Assembly Members on Tuesday, August 24, 2021, defied all controversies to elect a Presiding Member (PM) to chair its meetings after seven unsuccessful attempts.

Hon. Ben Ollo Tilatey, an Assembly Member for Kporbariyiri Electoral Area was this time endorsed by majority of the Assembly Members at its last meeting.

At the close of nominations, Benjamin was the only candidate who filed to contest as the PM of the Assembly.

The election which was earlier conducted two times in the day saw Benjamin Ollo polling twenty six votes (26) out of the forty eight ( 48) votes in the first election making him unsuccessful for the position as Hon.Issah Clement of Kong Electoral Area polled twenty- two( 22) votes.

However, in the second round, Hon.Issah Clement pulled out of the contest and Hon Benjamin Ollo was overwhelmingly endorsed as he accumulated a total of forty- five votes as the total valid votes cast.

The Sawla-Tuna-Kalba District in the Savannah Region was unable to elect a Presiding Member since its inauguration in January 2020.

The District was created in 2004 with honourable John Chaatey Darison who stirred the affairs on two terms as a Presiding Member.

Thank you for reading my article just complete this by liking and commenting on it below

Content created and supplied by: jjlobationisamaestro (via Opera News )

Ben Ollo Tilatey Benjamin Kporbariyiri STK Sawla-Tuna-Kalba


Load app to read more comments