Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

No Show as Majority MPs Boycotted 20-Member Committee of Parliament- Deputy Minority Whip

First Deputy Minority Whip, Ahmed Ibrahim has revealed that the 20 member committee set up by Parliament to resolve the increasing conflict and hooliganism in the Chamber could not meet for deliberations yesterday.

Speaking to a Joy News reporter on Wednesday, just before the House resume sitting, the NDC legislator stated that there has not been any form of meeting or discussions on the subject matter because all members of the committee from the majority side of the House did not turn up.

He expressed his disappointment in the majority membership of the committee for not showing up for the intended meeting and accused them of lack of commitment in ensuring peace in the Chamber.

"Even the Chairman himself [Afenyo Markin] was not present. I am very disappointed in the leadership of the majority. They are not friends of peace. They don't like peace. They are just pretending in the eyes of the public".

Parliament was compelled to set up a 20 member committee to resolve the misunderstandings and disturbances that characterised the approval of the 2022 budget in the last two weeks.

Failure of the committee to meet and proffer solutions to the impasse suggests that similar instances may surface as the House resume sitting today.

Content created and supplied by: [email protected] (via Opera News )

Afenyo Markin Ahmed Ibrahim House Joy News NDC


Load app to read more comments