Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Heads of state of Ghana and their periods of rule since 1957

Ghana attained it's Independence from British colonial rule in the year 1957.

This was after a long struggle for Independence by our forefathers such as Osagyefo Dr Nkrumah, J.B. Dankwah, Obetsebi Lamprey etc. The following is a chain of political leadership till now.

1. 1957 - 1969: Queen Elizabeth II remained the ceremonial head with Kwame Nkrumah as the Prime Minister.


The President replaced the Monarch. The president was elected by parliament for a five year term.

1. 1960 - 26th Feb, 1966: Kwame Nkrumah


26 Feb, 1966 - 2nd April,1969: Lt Gen J.A. Ankrah through the National Liberation Council(NLC)

2. 2nd April, 1969 - 3rd Sept, 1969: Brig. Gen. Akwasi Afrifa: NLC

2ND REPUBLIC : 1969-1972

1. 3rd Sept, 1969- 7th Aug, 1970: Brig. Gen. Afrifa with K.A. Busia as prime minister.

2. 7th Aug,1970-31st Aug, 1970: Nii Amah Ollenu. with K.A. Busia as Prime Minister.

3. 31st Aug, 1970-13th Jan, 1972: Edward Akuffo Addo with K.A. Busia as prime minister.

MILITARY RULE 1972-1979.

1.13th Jan, 1972- 9th Oct, 1975: Gen. Ignatius Kutu Acheampong through the National Redemption Council.

2. 9th Oct, 1975- 5th July, 1978: Gen. Ignatius Kutu Acheampong through the Supreme Military Council (SMC).

3. 5th July, 1978-4th June, 1979: Lt. Gen. Fred Akufo through the Supreme Military Council.

4. 4th June, 1979-24th Sept, 1979: Fly. Let. Jerry John Rawlings through the AFRC.


President was to be elected by Ghanaians for a four year term.

1. 24th Sept, 1979-31st Dec, 1981: Dr Hilla Liman through the Peoples National Party.


1. 31st Dec, 1981-7th Jan, 1993: Fly.Lt. Jerry John Rawlings the PNDC.


1. 7th Jan, 1993-7th Jan, 2001: Fly.Lt. Jerry John Rawlings through the National Democratic Congress(NDC).

2. 7th Jan, 2001-7th Jan, 2009: John Agyekum Kuffour: through the New Patriotic Party(NPP).

3. 7th Jan, 2009-24th July, 2012: John Atta Mills through the NDC. He died in office.

4. 24th July, 2012- 7th Jan, 2017: John Dramani Mahama through the NDC.

5. 7th Jan, 2017- present: Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo through the NPP.

Follow and comment for more stories.

Content created and supplied by: Jmahama (via Opera News )

Independence J.B. Dankwah Kwame Nkrumah MILITARY Obetsebi Lamprey


Load app to read more comments