Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Three NPP MPs In Trouble As Alban Bagbin Petitions Them To Privileges Committee; Ghanaians React

The Speaker of Parliament, Right Honorable Alban Bagbin has referred some Members of Parliament (MPs) to the privileges committee of Parliament after receiving a petition against them for absenting themselves from Parliament without permission for more than fifteen meetings.

The names of these MPs happen to be from the New Patriotic Party(NPP). They include Honorable Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, Honorable Sarah Adwoa Safo and Honorable Henry Quartey.

Even though some members of parliament disagreed with the speaker, he still went ahead with the petition. Some MPs believe that it will set a dangerous precedence which can be used by a “dictator speaker” in future to hurt lawmakers in the country. Muntaka Mohammed Mubarak defended the NPP members who were petitioned but speaker still went ahead to make the law work.

Ghanaians have reacted to this and below are some reactions.

From the reactions, some Ghanaians seem happy that the law in working in Parliament.

Alban Bagbin further revealed in his statement that Parliament is meant for making rules and members should not be those who will break their own rules.

Thanks for reading.

Please follow me for more interesting articles.

Comment below your opinion on this.

Like and also share.

Content created and supplied by: Rexbank (via Opera News )

Alban Bagbin Ghanaians Henry Quartey Muntaka Mohammed Mubarak NPP


Load app to read more comments