Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

Flashback: NDC's 13 Out Of 23 Parliamentary Seats In Central Region And Expectations Of Chairman

History will always be a motivational tool for the future so far as the politics of this nation is concerned. Political parties mobilize people, restructure party systems and deploy new ideas to face the future whiles embarking on any political expedition or agenda.

When we recall how massive certain political parties in Ghana obtained a resounding victory during the 2020 elections, most especially in the Central Region, it became a greater force to be reckoned with.

During the 2020 elections, Central Region which has always been decisive and hope for both NDC and NPP with regard to vote canvassing, sounded interestingly great and attractive for the opposition NDC.

Out of the total number of 23 constituencies /seats in the region, the NDC had an upper hand on the Parliamentary election as the party amassed 13 out of 23 seats which is as follows;

1. Agona East (NDC) Queenster Pokua Sawyer obtained 23,247 against NPP's Kwesi Yankah - 22,292 votes

2. Ajumako/Enyan/Essiam ( NDC) Cassiel Ato Forson obtained 39,229 as against NPP's Etuaful Rashid Kwesi - 28,229 votes.

3. Asikuma Odoben Brakwa ( NDC) Alhassan Kobina Ghansah polled 28,175 votes against NPP's Emmanuel Domson 25,454 votes

4. Assin North ( NDC ) James Gyakye Quayson obtained 17,498 against NPP's Abena Durowaa Mensah who obtained 14,193 votes

5. Awutu Senya West ( NDC ) Gizella Tetteh Agbotui obtained 32,708 against NPP's Andah George Nenyi Kojo - 29832 votes.

6. Cape Coast North ( NDC ) Kwamena Mintah Nyarku obtained 22,972 as against NPP's Barbara Asher Ayisi - 21,642.

7. Cape Coast South ( NDC ) Ricketts- Hagan Kweku obtained 21,118 as against NPP's Ernest Arthur who took 19,714 votes.

8. Ekumfi ( NDC ) Abeiku Crentsil polled 16,037 against NPP's Francis Kingley Ato Codjoe who obtained 13,468 votes.

9. Gomoa East ( NDC ) Paitoo De-Graft Desmond swooped 36,637 against NPP's Kojo Asemanyi who obtained 35,873 votes.

10. Gomoa West ( NDC ) Richard Gyan Mensah obtained 29,822 against NPP's Alexander Kodwo Kom Abban 25,235 votes.

11. Komenda /Edina / Eguafo /Abirem ( NDC) Samuel Atta Mills obtained 26,886 against NPP's Samuel Joe Acquah - 23,039 votes.

12. Twifo -Atti Morkwaa ( NDC ) Vondee T.D David obtained 21,416 against NPP's Ebenezer Obeng Dwamena's 19,594 votes.

13. Upper Denkyira West ( NDC ) Daniel Ohene Darko polled 18,446 votes against NPP's Samuel Nsowah Djan - 17,925 votes.

The rest of the other ten constituencies were captured by the NPP including the following

14. Agona West ( NPP) Cynthia Mamle Morrison obtained 30,513 against NDC's Paul Ofori Amoah's 27,673

15. Assin Central ( NPP ) Kennedy Ohene Agyapong and NDC's Nurein Shaibu Migyimah polled 19,754 and 14,747 votes respectively.

16. Assin South ( NPP ) John Ntim Fordjour of NPP and Joseph Kofi Damtse polled 17,121 and 15,801 votes respectively.

17. Awutu Senya East ( NPP ) Mavis Hawa Koomson of NPP and NDC's Philis Naa Koryoo Okunor obtained 57,114 and 51,561 votes respectively.

18. Effutu ( NPP) Alexander Afenyo-Markin and NDC's James Kofi Annan polled 33,545 and 18,802 votes respectively.

19. Gomoa Central ( NPP ) Naana Eyiah of NPP and NDC's Jonamoah Moses Jehu - Appiah secured 20,527 and 18,802 votes respectively.

20. Hemang Lower Denkyira ( NPP ) NPP's Bright Wireko Brobbey and NDC's Foster Joseph Andoh secured 14,791 and 12,692 votes respectively.

21. Mfantseman ( NPP ) Ophelia Mensah of NPP and James Essuon obtained 36,021 and 32,438 votes respectively.

22. Upper Denkyira East ( NPP ) Festus Awuah Kwofie and Emelia Ankomah of NDC obtained 26,771 and 22,121 respectively.

23. Abura Asebu /Kwamankese ( NPP ) NPP's Elvis Morris Donkoh and NDC's Felix Ofosu Kwakye polled 25,048 and 24,872 votes respectively.

The NDC is pushing hard to restore victory back to the party in 2024 owing to the abysmal performance of the NPP who have already lost the spark to turned around the economy from its worse situation.

The Central Regional Chairman Professor Richard Kofi Asiedu has already vowed to capture 7 more seats from the NPP to add up to those 13 seats the party occupies in Parliament.

This vision remains a live and coloured vision but not just a mirage on the side of the Central Regional NDC. Per what Honourable Ato Forson and others are doing everthing shows clearly how ambitious and aggressive it will be for the party to capture political power.

Professor Richard Kofi Asiedu is an action driven man whose contribution and system of leadership is super authentic and more resilient to ensure the mission and vision of the NDC come into reality in order to bring development to the people in accordance to the rule of law.

Content created and supplied by: GHReliableNews (via Opera News )

Agona East Central Region Ghana NDC Queenster Pokua


Load app to read more comments