Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Africa politics

MMDCE Elections: 3 Rejected, 8 Confirmed So Far in Upper West Region

The Battle has ended with Regards to Confirmation of MMDCEs in the 11 Districts of Upper West Region.Three MMDCE Nominees were Rejected in the Process, Lawra MCE, Mr. Martin Bomba-ire had 21 YES and 21 "NO'', he is to return in 10 days time for another elections. Madam Christine Amadu, MCE For Jirapa has 31 Votes and Needed not Less than 35 to Qualify, she will be returning in 10 days time from the day of elections for relection. The Nominee for Wa West District, Mr. Bukari Ali, had 15 " YES" Votes with 26 "NO" Votes. Some Peoe Attributed it to factors including both the Member of Parliament and Chairman Hailing from where he comes from.Assembly members at the Daffiama-Busie-Issa District assembly have voted to approve the president’s nominee for the DCE position Mr. Nadi Imoro Sanda. Meanwhile some NPP youth Group have written officially to state that the Wa MCE wasn't Confirmed Legally.

Out of the 21 assembly members in the district, 15 assembly members voted yes to confirm Mr. Nadi Imoro Sanda as the DCE for area after getting 71 percent of the vote cast.

The confirmed DCE speaking after his confirmation thanked all assembly members for reposing confidence in him by confirming him to serve for the second time as the DCE for the area.

Before the confirmation of the DCE for Daffiama-Busie-Issa District, the assembly members at the Daffiama-Busie-Issa District also elected Mr. Stephen Katuoli, the assembly member for Fian Electoral area to serve at the presiding member of the district assembly after members of the assembly previously failed to elect a presiding member for five times.

The elated newly elected presiding member for DBI expressed his gratitude to members of the assembly for giving him the mandate to serve them.

47 out of the 52 assembly members in the Nadowli-Kaleo district assembly have voted to confirm Madam Kathrine Lankono as the District Chief Executive for the Nadowli Kaleo district.

Speaking after her confirmation, Madam Kathrine Lankono who garnered 90.38% of valid votes cast by the assembly members expresses her gratitude to members of the Nadowli-Kaleo district assembly and promised to work hard to bring the needed development to the district.

Meanwhile, some former members of the Nadowli-Kaleo district assembly have expressed frustration why the Naowli-Kaleo district assembly have decided to pay ex-gratia to some selected former assembly members without including all in the payment process. This according to them is unfair, since those members being paid are currently still members of the assembly. 

The former assembly member for Samatigu-Kaluri electoral area Mr. Vincent has therefore appealed to the district assembly to initiate measures to pay the rest of former assembly members who have not being paid their ex-gratia yet.

Content created and supplied by: (via Opera News )

Bukari Ali Christine Amadu Jirapa Lawra MCE Martin Bomba-ire


Load app to read more comments