Sign in
Download Opera News App






The Church of Pentecost: a brief history and part leadership

The Church of Pentecost is one of the churches in Ghana with a very great following. The Church currently have several branches across both accessible and remote areas in Ghana, reaching more people in terms of spreading the Gospel. Like any other Church, we deem it necessary to explore with you the History of this great missionary institution.

The Church of Pentecost, like most great institutions, started in a small way. The Church’s beginnings are linked to the ministry of Pastor James McKeown (1900-1989); an Irish missionary sent by the Apostolic Church, Bradford, United Kingdom (UK), to the then Gold Coast (now Ghana) in 1937 to help a group of believers of the Apostolic Faith led by Rev. Peter Newman who later became the founder of Christ Apostolic Church in a town called Asamankese, a popular town in Ghana.

Itbis beleived that doctrinal differences could not allow the Church to progress in unity, especially on divine healing. This forced the group to split in 1939 into the Christ Apostolic Church and the Apostolic Church, Gold Coast. Apostolic Church saw great expansion under Pastor James McKeown. In 1953 led to the founding of Gold Coast Apostolic Church lead by Pastor James McKeown.

On the attainment of independence by the country in 1957 and following the changes of its name to Ghana, the Gold Coast Apostolic Church was renamed the Ghana Apostolic Church. The break between the two doctines in 1953 did not end the doctrinal crisis. For that matter, a new conflict arose which compelled the Dr Kwame Nkrumah, the President of Ghana to advise the leadership of the Ghana Apostolic Church to adopt a new name in order to foster peace and harmony on the Pentecostal front. Therefore, on August 1, 1962, the new name, The Church of Pentecost, legally replaced the Ghana Apostolic Church.

The Church of Pentecost has since seen tremendous growth under various leaders from 1962 to the present. It has also make a very great impact in the lives of Ghanaians. Below are the names and years of service of the six Church of Pentecost Chairmen.

1. Pastor James McKeown (1962-1982)

2. Apostle Fred Stephen Safo (1982-1987)

3. Prophet Martinson Yeboah (1988-1998)

4. Apostle Dr Michael Ntumy (1998-2008)

5. Apostle Prof. Opoku Onyinah (2008-2018)

6. Apostle Eric Nyamekye (2018 to present)

Content created and supplied by: PoliticalNewsRoom (via Opera News )

Apostolic Church Church of Pentecost Ghana Gold Coast James


Load app to read more comments