Sign in
Download Opera News App






History of the Church Of Pentecost

The Church of Pentecost

The Church of Pentecost is a Pentecostal denomination that originates from Ghana and has it headquarters in Accra. The Church is governed by board of executives called Presbytery. The Church currently has a presence in more than 105 countries globally. Its current Chairman is Apostle Eric Nyamekye..


The Church of Pentecost, like most great institutions, started in a small way. The Church’s beginnings are linked to the ministry of Pastor James McKeown (1900-1989); an Irish missionary sent by the Apostolic Church, Bradford, United Kingdom (UK), to the then Gold Coast (now Ghana) in 1937 to help a group of believers of the Apostolic Faith led by Rev. Peter Newman who later became the founder of Christ Apostolic Church in a town called Asamankese.

Due to doctrinal differences bed on divine healing, the group split in 1939 into the Christ Apostolic Church and the Apostolic Church, Gold Coast. The latter saw great expansion under Pastor James McKeown. In 1953, a constitutional crisis led to the founding of Gold Coast Apostolic Church lead by Pastor James McKeown.

On the attainment of independence by the country in 1957 and following the changes of its name to Ghana, the Gold Coast Apostolic Church was renamed the Ghana Apostolic Church. The split in 1953 did not end the crisis. New conflicts compelled the then President of the Republic of Ghana, His Excellency Dr Kwame Nkrumah, to advise the leadership of the Ghana Apostolic Church to adopt a new name in order to foster peace and harmony on the Pentecostal front. Therefore, on August 1, 1962, the new name, The Church of Pentecost, legally replaced the Ghana Apostolic Church.

The Church of Pentecost expanded into a worldwide movement. The Church of Pentecost currently operates in 105 Nations headed by Apostles, Prophets, Evangelists and Senior Pastors throughout the world and about 21,802 local assemblies in 2,381 districts. In 2018, global membership of the Church stood at 3,257,943, with children constituting about 1,056,062. The Church of Pentecost had 137,862 church officers and 2,492 ordained ministers in 101 nations

Chairman of the Church of Pentecost

Pastor James McKeown 1953–1982

Apostle Fred Stephen Safo 1982–1987

Prophet Martinson Kwadwo Yeboah 1988–1998

Apostle Dr. Michael Kwabena Ntumy 1998–2008

Apostle Prof. Opoku Onyinah 2008–2018

Apostle Eric Nyamekye 2018- current

Content created and supplied by: SIGMEGATESTEIN (via Opera News )

Apostolic Church Church of Pentecost Ghana Gold Coast Peter Newman


Load app to read more comments