Sign in
Download Opera News App



Interesting Facts About National Science And Maths Quiz You Did Not Know

The National Science and Maths Quiz (NSMQ) is an annual inter-schools quiz competition which began its inception in the year 1993. Its first quiz was held in 1994. The quiz is broadcasted on the television (GTV).

The intuition behind creating the quiz is to enhance the study of science and mathematics; help students develop quick thinking and a probing and scientific mind about everyday world around them, while fostering healthy academic rivalry among senior high schools.

Each year, the NSMQ gives an opportunity for senior high schools to show off. Though, it is the hope of every school to be emerged as a winner, and it has become an academic goal most schools work to achieve every academic year.

In this article I bring to you the interesting facts about NSMQ that you did not know since its inception from 1993 to 2019.

10. NSMQ has been hosted by three quiz mistress from diverse science professions. The late Professor Marian Ewurama Addy, professor of biochemistry at the University of Ghana, Legon, was the first quiz mistress to host the program (1993-2000). She was seceded by Dr. Eureka Emefa Adomako, a botanist at the University of Ghana, Legon, from 2001 to 2005. Dr. Eureka Emefa Adomako left for postgraduate studies and she was replaced by Dr. Elsie Effah Kaufmann, Head of the Biomedical Engineering Department at the University of Ghana, Legon, who is also the current quiz mistress of the competition.

9. The NSMQ has been held in three different venues since it began. Presbyterian Senior High School; University of Ghana; The National Theater.

8. Presbyterian Senior High School is leading the chart with 5 wins (1995, 2003, 2006, 2008, 2009). The next is Prempeh College who are four time winners.

7. Greater Accra schools have won the competition most in terms of region. This is followed by Ashanti, Eastern, Central and Western region respectively. No school in other region has ever won the quiz.

6. There are five rounds in all. The school with the most point becomes the winner after the 5th round.

5. The NSMQ has been won by only eleven schools.

4. Out of the eleven schools which have won the competition, only one is a mixed school (Achimota School). The remaining ten are all boys' schools.

3. Prempeh College was the first school to win the maiden competition in 1994. Achimota School and Accra Academy were the 1st and 2nd runner up respectively.

2. No girls' school has ever won the competition.

1. Only one school has won the competition for two consecutive years and that is Presbyterian Senior High School.

Content created and supplied by: SADYNA (via Opera News )

GTV Marian Ewurama Addy NSMQ National Science and Maths Quiz University of Ghana


Load app to read more comments