Sign in
Download Opera News App



Love relationship


Dating Romantic

Know The 5 Love Languages, The Secret To Lasting Love

We humans love love and want to be loved. However, it is not obvious for everyone to have a long term relationship. Do your relationships break down every time after a few months and you have no idea why? Maybe it's because you don't know your love language. We will update you. Is your love language the reason your relationships keep breaking down? 

Ever heard of the 5 love languages? Then maybe that's why your relationships keep breaking down, no matter how hard you try. These 5 love languages ​​say a lot about how you and your partner want to receive love. So if you don't know this about yourself and your partner, chances are you're walking past each other. But what are those 5 love languages? Those are: sweet words, presents, spending time together, touching and doing things for each other. 

Of course everyone recognizes themselves in all 5 love languages, but each person dominates in his need for 1 of the 5. This theory was devised by Dr. Gary Chapman, couples therapist, who wrote a book about it in 1992 called The 5 Love Languages: The Secret To Love That Lasts. Gary's theory has become very popular again lately, and your love language is almost mentioned in the same breath as your zodiac sign.

1. Spending time together (quality time)

This is also pretty self-explanatory, but if this is your love language then you place a lot of value on spending time with just the two of you. No phones or other distractions, you want your love's undivided attention and want your partner to make time for you. This makes you feel valued and special.

2. Doing things for each other (acts of service)

This love language is the literal translation of 'actions speak louder than words'. Of course it is nice if your lover says that he/she loves you, but you would rather see that reflected in the things you love for you. A spontaneous breakfast in bed or cooking food for you when you are tired from a long day of work. Sweet gestures are super important to you in a relationship.

3. Touches (physical touch)

If this is your love language then you've probably had a hard time in all those lockdowns. Touch is your way of giving and receiving love. Whether it's a hug, kiss or more than that, it will make you weak in your knees when your lover touches you. You like to be close to your sweetheart and always walk hand in hand. Couples who don't touch each other all night at a party? Not seen you. You need those touches!

4. Gifts (receiving gifts)

This love language is often seen as superficial and materialistic, but it isn't at all. It is not about the gift itself, but the thought behind it. Personal gifts with a meaning make your heart skip a beat.

5. Sweet words (words of affirmation)

If this is your love language , you care about the words the other person says. It is important to you that your partner continues to verbally express his feelings to you and regularly says 'I love you'. It is therefore important for you to have a partner who can talk about his feelings and who likes to shower you with compliments and sweet words.

Okay, so now you know what your love language is, but it's just as important to know your partner's. You can say a lot of sweet words to your lover because you like it yourself, but if his/her love language is quality time, then your love will still lack something. So have that conversation with your partner about how he/she would prefer to receive your love. Bet that your relationships will last much longer from now on

Content created and supplied by: CyraxPen (via Opera News )

5 Love Languages


Load app to read more comments