Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

16 Manchester United Players Squad Numbers Confirmed For Qatar 2022

32 nations have qualified for the 2022 Qatar World Cup and have submitted their final squad list. 

The deadline for the submission of the list which was the 14th of November has finally ended and all nations have passed and all criteria given met.

On the part of Manchester United, 16 of the club’s players have been selected to participate in the World Cup for their National teams and will travel to Qatar for the tournament. 

The tournament which begins on Sunday the 20th of November will see host Nation face Ecuador at the Al-Bayt Stadium in Al Khor.

The 16 Man United players selected by their federations have been confirmed and finalized with their jersey numbers.

Four boys from the Middle East with United, will be seen wearing the number 8, which is a popular number.

Fred and Fernades who are both players for Brazil and Portugal national teams respectively are no strangers to international football and have both qualified while Hannibal and Facundo Pellistri who are still beginners have been given low numbers which indicates that they will be given significant minutes by Tunisia and Uruguay.

The only other number shared by two Reds is 16, with left-backs Tyrell Malacia and Alex Telles – who is currently on loan with Sevilla – looking forward to their first World Cups.

The same can be said for Diogo Dalot, who will sport no.2 for Portugal, but Luke Shaw (no.3), Raphael Varane (no.4) and Casemiro (no.5) are all experienced on the global stage.

Harry Maguire the United captain retains the no.6 he wore during titanic performances at the 2018 World Cup and Euro 2020.

Cristiano Ronaldo is Portugal’s no.7 and Christian Eriksen wears no.10 for Denmark and those shirts have of course been iconic down the years at the World Cup.

Marcus Rashford reprises his role as England’s no.11 from the Euros, while Antony has been handed no.19 by Brazil in what is his maiden senior Selecao tournament.

This World Cup is the first in which 26-man squads are allowed and all 32 nations, bar Iran, have taken the opportunity to name an extra three players compared to last time out in Russia.

Defender Lisandro Martinez wears no.25 for Argentina, although he will be hoping to plant himself firmly in Lionel Scaloni’s starting XI, especially after his assured recent performances in the red shirt.

Confirmed Squad Numbers Are Below; 

2: Diogo Dalot

3: Luke Shaw

4: Raphael Varane

5: Casemiro

6: Harry Maguire

7: Cristiano Ronaldo

8: Hannibal, Fred, Bruno Fernandes, Facundo Pellistri

10: Christian Eriksen

11: Marcus Rashford

16: Tyrell Malacia, Alex Telles

19: Antony

25: Lisandro Martinez


Content created and supplied by: Sportsfactory (via Opera News )

Man United Manchester United Qatar Qatar World Cup


Load app to read more comments