Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




UEFA Champions League

All The Winners At 65th Ballon d'Or Awards; Messi Wins Huge

The 65th edition of the Ballon d'Or Awards saw a keen contest with two additional trophies introduced. These inaugural trophies were the Best Goalscorer of the Year and the Best Club of The Year. Let's see the winners below.

1. Best Under 21 Player of the Year (Kopa Trophy) - Pedri

Pedro González known as Pedri is a nineteen-year-old Spanish professional footballer who plays as a central midfielder for Barcelona and the Spain national team. He is one of the most promising young footballers in the world. Pedri won the Kopa Trophy as Europe's best young player, which comes just a week after he won the Golden Boy award. He beat out Jamal Musiala in second place, Jude Bellingham in third place, and PSG's Nuno Mendes in fourth place to win the trophy.

2. Best Goalkeeper of the Year (Yashin Trophy) - Gianluigi Donnarumma

Donnarumma is an Italian professional footballer who plays as a goalkeeper for Paris Saint-Germain and the Italy national team. The 22-year-old Donnarumma beat out the likes of Edouard Mendy (2nd), Jan Oblak (3rd), Ederson (4th), Manuel Neuer (5th), and Emiliano Martinez (6th) to win the Best Goalkeeper trophy.

3. Club of the Year - Chelsea FC

Chelsea Football Club is an English professional football club based in West London. Founded in 1905, the club competes in the Premier League. Chelsea, whose men won the UEFA Champions League in 2021 and saw their women's side win the Women's Super League, were named Club of the Year, with managers Thomas Tuchel and Emma Hayes accepting the award.

4. Best Goalscorer of the Year - Robert Lewandowski

Robert Lewandowski is a 33-year-old Polish professional footballer who plays as a striker for Bundesliga club Bayern Munich. He is the captain of the Poland national team. Lewandowski won one of two new awards and also finished second to Messi on the final ballot. He was the favorite for last year's prize before it got canceled because of the lack of football during the coronavirus pandemic.

Lewandowski was nominated for the award again this year after he broke late Bayern legend Gerd Muller's single-season Bundesliga goal record in May after he netted 41 league times last season, as well as winning the European Golden Shoe.

5. Best Women's Player of the Year (Women's Ballon d'Or Winner) - Alexia Putellas

Alexia Putellas Segura is a twenty-seven-year-old Spanish footballer who plays as a midfielder for the Spain national team and captains Primera División club Barcelona. Since 2012, Putellas has played for Barcelona and won the Champions League with the club last season. Alexia beat out Vivianne Miedema, Sam Kerr, and Jenni Hermoso to win the Women's Ballon d'Or.

6. Best Player of the Year or Ballon d'Or Winner - Lionel Messi

Lionel Andrés Messi, also known as Leo Messi, is a 34-year-old Argentine professional footballer who plays for Paris Saint-Germain and captains the Argentina national team. For the first time in his career, Messi lifted the Copa America this summer with Argentina. He completed a move from Barcelona to PSG.

Messi was, awarded the prestigious Ballon d'Or for a record-extending seventh time. He now has two more Ballon d'Or awards than Cristiano Ronaldo. 

He won the award ahead of Lewandowski who took a second-place finish. Chelsea midfielder Jorginho placed third after winning last season's UEFA Champions League with Chelsea before playing a crucial part in Italy's triumph at Euro 2020.

Congrats to all winners.

Is Messi the best footballer of all time? Leave your comments, like, share the story, and follow the page.

Content created and supplied by: Wubga360 (via Opera News )

Ballon d'Or Awards Jamal Musiala Jude Bellingham Kopa Trophy Nuno Mendes


Load app to read more comments