Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports





Wafcon 2022: South Africa faces hosts Morocco in final

t's the ideal opportunity for the huge 2022 TotalEnergies Women's Africa Cup of Nations last between Morocco and South Africa's Banyana at Rabat's Moulay Abdellah Sports Complex.

Before this evening's major event CAF Online checked out at the WAFCON last by the numbers.

0 - 2018 last is the main version to end 0-0 and be settled on punishments. Nigeria came out on top for a ninth championship, overcoming South Africa on spot kicks.

1 - Victory for Morocco or South Africa will give them their most memorable WAFCON title.

2 - Host countries have lost in the last two times beforehand, South Africa in 2000 and Cameroon in 2016, both to Nigeria. Triumph for either country will see them become the second country alongside Nigeria to have their people's groups delegated mainland champions. Morocco was AFCON victors in 1976 and South Africa in 1996.

3 - The champ will turn into the third country to bring home the WAFCON championship, after Equatorial Guinea who has two titles, and Nigeria with 9. They will likewise be the primary new victor of the competition since Equatorial Guinea in 2008.

4 - South Africa has dominated four matches in the ongoing competition by a solitary objective, they have dominated their last three matches 1-0. They just dominated a match in Morocco by a more noteworthy wiggle room against Burundi 3-1 in the gathering stages.

5 - South Africa is taking part in their fifth WAFCON last. They have now arrived at a last in Central, West, North, and Southern Africa and are the first group to arrive at the WAFCON finals in quite a while on the mainland. It is whenever they first have arrived at consecutive finals.

6 - Victory for Morocco will see the host country come out on top for the WAFCON championship for the sixth time. Nigeria in 1998, 2002, and 2006 as well as Equatorial Guinea in 2008 and 2012 have won on home soil beforehand.

7 - This is South Africa's seventh gathering with a WAFCON have. They have lost each of their past six experiences against the hosts. Morocco is the fourth host country they will look alongside Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, and Nigeria. It is their third gathering in a last with a host. They lost to Equatorial Guinea in 2008 and 2012.

8-This will be the eighth time that the hosts have arrived at the last alongside Cameroon (2016), Equatorial Guinea (2008 and 2012), Nigeria (1998, 2002, and 2006), and South Africa (2000).

9 - Nigeria is the best country in the opposition, coming out on top for the championship on 9 events, the joint most mainland titles in Women's Football alongside China (AFC) and the USA (CONCACAF).

10 - Should the triumphant country figure out how to keep a perfect sheet it will be the tenth time in WAFCON's last history that the victors' safeguard has not been penetrated. Just two times before in 2008 (EQG 2 RSA 1) and 2010 (NGA 4 EQG 2) the two groups scored the last.

100 - The level of wins that Nigeria has in the last of the WAFCON, bringing home each of the 9 of the Championship games they have played in the WAFCON finals.

Content created and supplied by: Mudeezy242 (via Opera News )

AFCON CAF Online Morocco Nigeria South Africa


Load app to read more comments