Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




UEFA Champions League

UEFA awards for 2022/23 Top nominees announced

UEFA has released the nominees for the UEFA Awards, which will be held on August 25, 2022, in Istanbul, Turkey.

The European Football governing body made this known today. The most coveted award among all the categories is the UEFA men’s player of the year award.

This award scheme was established to recognize the best players in all UEFA sanctioned competitions, particularly the UEFA Champions League, and each year awards are given to the most performing players in the club season.

The various categories of the award are the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year Award(formerly known as the UEFA Best Player in Europe Award ), Best Goalkeeper, Best Defender, Best Midfielder, Best Forward, Coach(es) of the Year and many others for the men's and women's version of the game.

According to UEFA, the nominees for the Men’s Player of the Year awards were Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne(Man City), Robert Lewandowski(Bayern Munich), Luka Modric(Real Madrid),Sadio Mane(Liverpool), Mohamed Salah(Liverpool), Kylian Mbappe(PSG), Vinicius Junior(Real Madrid), Virgil Van Dijk(Liverpool), Bernardo Silva(Man City), Lorenzo Pellegrini(Roma), Trent Alexander Arnold(Liverpool), Fabinho(Liverpool), after the selecting and voting process of the 15 shortlisted players by UEFA jury which is made up of Club Coaches and top Journalist, three players are been nominated for accumulating most the points, they are Karim Benzema, Thibaut Courtois and Kelvin De Bruyne.

The decision is well-deserved, as the Real Madrid duo helped the Spanish club win their 14th European title and Liga; Benzema scored 15 Champions League goals.

While Kevin helped Manchester City to win their 4th EPL title in 7 years, he has also won the Premiership Footballer of the Year award twice.


The other category nominees are the men’s coach of the year, where Carlo Ancelotti, Jurgen Klopp, and Josep Guardiola have been shortlisted.


Which player will take the mantle? Chelsea midfielder Jorginho, who won the award for the 2020/21 award last year,


Follow me for more updates.

Content created and supplied by: kwasikingGh (via Opera News )

European Football Istanbul Turkey UEFA Awards UEFA Champions League


Load app to read more comments