Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

CR7 equals Asamoah as the only two players to score 9 consecutive times in major tournaments

Juventus forward Christian Ronaldo has join Ghana's legend Asamoah Gyan as the only two players in football history to have ever scored nine consecutive times in major international tournaments.

The former black stars player was surprise to see his world record broken as the only player to score nine times in major tournaments by Portugal legend.

He scored two goal giving Portugal 3-0 win over Hungary in the Euro 2020 campaign. This has made the five times ballon d'Or winner to equals Asamoah Gyan in football records.

The Ghanaian legend set his record in 2017 African cup of nations where he led a 1-0 win over Mali at the group stage. But before this he scored in 2006 world cup, 2008 African cup, 2010 African cup, 2010 world cup,2012 African cup, 2013 African cup, 2014 world cup, 2015 African cup and 2017 African cup.

Ronaldo on the other hand has also scored in 2004 European championship, 2006 world cup, 2008European championship, 2010 world cup, 2012 European championship, 2014 world cup, 2016 European championship, 2018 world cup and the latest been 2020 European championship. And these has make them the only two players to hold that record. But Asanmoah Gyan wouldn't be surprise since the record is not equals by any others person than a football legend who has set many records before equalling him.


Content created and supplied by: UpperStarsMedia (via Opera News )

African Asamoah Christian Ronaldo Portugal Ronaldo


Load app to read more comments