Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports





A Look At The 8 Local Based Players That Made The Final List Of The Black Stars Squad.

A lot of people were not happy after the final black stars list of players to play the AFCON qualifiers against south Africa and Sao Tome and Principe came out.

There were complains about the fact that locally based players did not dominate since they have been the once who have spent the most time with CK Akonnor camping and training.

Many assumed that because of the camping of many of the locally based players most of them would have been assured of a place in the final list of the coach.

As it was, the final 29-man squad that the coach of the black star CK Akonnor submitted has only 8 of the locally based players.

These players include Gladson Awako of Accra Great Olympics, Joseph Esso of Dreams FC, Ismael Ganiru of Kumasi Asante Kotoko, Razark Abalora of Asante Kotoko, Eric Ofori Antwi of Medeama fc, Danlad Ibrahim of Kumasi Asante Kotoko, Philemon Baffour of Dreams FC and Fatawu Issahaku of Steadfast fc.

Kwame Poku currently is with ES Algiers so technically he is not a local based player. So these are the 8 players that were called by coach CK Akonnor who plies their trade in Ghana.

Sometimes very few or none of the locally based players are given the opportunity to play and prove themselves worthy of a place in the black star’s regular squad.

When local based players are eventually called into the black stars’ squad, they normally serve us bench warmers or sometimes late substitutes leaving them with little or no chance to prove themselves to the coach.

This is probably the first time in a long while since the black stars’ squad have had many locally based players as much as 8 of them.

We hope the coach uses them in the two fixtures against South Africa and Sao Tome in other for them to prove their worth and also to open the door for more locally based players to be called.

Let me know what you think in the comment section.

Content created and supplied by: ReadIt (via Opera News )

Eric Ofori Antwi Gladson Awako Ismael Ganiru Joseph Esso Razark Abalora


Load app to read more comments