Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports





CK Akonnor names 9 local players in 29-man squad for AFCON Qualifiers

Black Stars Head Coach K. Akonnor has named a 29-man squad against South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe to qualify the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations. The squad consists of a combination of home-based and international players.

For the past four weeks, Coach Akonnor, who's been preparing for the two crucial matches at home in Accra, has settled for Nine of these men. They include Gladson Awako, Joseph Esso, Ismael Ganiyu, Razak abalora, Eric Opoku and Eric Ofori Antwort, respectively.

Also listed are the Black Satellites Trio, Danlad Ibrahim, Philemon Baffuor, and Abdul Fatawu Issahaku.

The group includes Stephen Ambrosius from Hamburg SV in Germany, Kamal Sowah from the OH in Leuven, Belgium, Willem II's Kwasi Okyere Wriedt in Holland, College of Colchester United's Kwame Afriyie Opoku, Gent's Osman Bukari, and Spezia FC's Emmanuel Gyasi in Italy.

On 25 March in Johannesburg, Ghana will take over South Africa before entering the Accra Sports Stadium in Sao Tome and Principe on 29 March 2021.

The Black Stars are at the top of 9 points in Group C and are in possession of one of the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations tickets in Cameroon.

The Team:

Goalkeepers: Richard (Orlando Pirates – Ghana), Razak Abalora (Asante Kotoko), Eric Ofori Antwi (Medeama SC – Ghana), and Danlad Ibrahim (American President) (Asante Kotoko- Ghana)

Full Backs: Baba Abdul Rahman (PAOK - Greece), Gideon Mensah (Vitória de Guimarães - Portugal), Benson Annan (FC Dreams - Slovakia),

Central Defenders: Nicholas Opoku, Kasim Nuhu (in 1899 Hoffenheim, Ghana) and Stephn Ambrosius (in 1899, Hamburg, SV, Germany), Ganiyu Ismael (asante Kotoko).

Central Midfield: Kudus Mohamed (Ajax Amsterdam - Holland) Mubarak Wakaso (Jiangsu Suning F.C - China), Afghanistan (Yeni Malatyaspor - Turkey), Emmanuel Lomotey (Amiens SC - Germany), Iddrisu Baba (RCD Mallorca – Spain).

Midfield Left Attack: Osman Bukari (Ghent-Belgium), Joseph Esso (Dreams FC- Ghana)

Midfield Right attack:

Kamal Sowah (OH Leuven - Belgium), Fatawu issahaku (Standfast FC - Ghana).

The attacker: Emmanuel Boateng, Emmanuel Gyasi, Emmanuel, Kwame Opoku, Asante Kotoko, John Antwi (Pyramid FC, Egypt), Kwasi Okyere Wriedt, Willem II, Holland, Caleb Ekuban, Trabzonespor, Turkey.

Content created and supplied by: Ghana_Politics (via Opera News )

CK Akonnor Eric Opoku Gladson Awako Ismael Ganiyu Joseph Esso


Load app to read more comments