Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




UEFA Champions League

Lewandoski Crown King Again, Mendy Outstanding Goalkeeper

At the Best FIFA awards, Robert Lewandowski was chosen best men's footballer and Alexia Putellas was named best women's footballer; Chelsea head coaches Thomas Tuchel and Emma Hayes were named coach of the year. Ronaldo and Christine Sinclair earn FIFA Special Awards; Edouard Mendy is voted outstanding goalkeeper.

With his 43rd Bundesliga goal in December, Poland international Lewandowski broke Gerd Muller's 1972 record for most Bundesliga goals in a calendar year. The 33-year-old, who won the men's prize in 2020, also made history by being the first player in Bundesliga history to lead the league in scoring for four seasons in a row.

Putellas, a Barcelona midfielder, was chosen women's player of the year, adding to her Ballon d'Or victory. Putellas, 27, led Barcelona to a treble last season, winning the Women's Champions League, the Spanish league, and the Copa de la Reina.

Chelsea's Thomas Tuchel and Emma Hayes were named the best men's and women's coaches, respectively. Last season, Tuchel led the Blues to Champions League glory. In January 2021, the 48-year-old German replaced Frank Lampard at Stamford Bridge and made an immediate effect, going 14 games without losing. Tuchel, a former head coach of Borussia Dortmund and Paris Saint-Germain, also guided Chelsea to the FA Cup final and fourth place in the Premier League.

At the FIFA Best Football Awards, Chelsea goalkeeper Edouard Mendy was named men's goalkeeper of the year for 2021. Mendy, 29, joined the Premier League team from Rennes in September 2020 and is now in his second season. The Senegalese international was nominated alongside Gianluigi Donnarumma of Italy and AC Milan and Manuel Neuer of Germany and Bayern Munich. Christiane Endler of Chile was selected women's goalkeeper of the year after joining Lyon from Paris Saint-Germain in June 2021.

Content created and supplied by: OBAMA_NEWS (via Opera News )

Christine Sinclair Edouard Mendy Emma Hayes Robert Lewandowski Thomas Tuchel


Load app to read more comments