Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




UEFA Champions League

UEFA AWARDS : Will Chelsea Dominate Today, Like They Did 13 Years Ago?

The UEFA Awards 2021 are set to take place today in Istanbul, Turkey. Today, UEFA, Europe's governing body, will honor the men and women who had the greatest impact in European football last season.

There will be awards given to the best male and female players, as well as coaches.

Chelsea, an English club, has a large number of representatives in the award. After winning the UEFA Champions League, a large number of players were nominated for the award.

Most notably, Ngolo Kante and Jorginho were nominated for the UEFA Best Male Player award, alongside Kevin De Bruyne. According to sources and statistics, the odds favor Jorginho to win, owing to his outstanding season.

Chelsea also has nominations for best goalkeeper Mendy and best defenders Rudiger and Aziplicueta. The only position where Chelsea did not have a nomination was in the offensive section.

Mendy's opponents in the best goalkeeper category are Man City's Ederson and Real Madrid's Thibault Courtois. While Rudiger and Azplilicueta face competition from Man City's Ruben Diaz.

So Chelsea has a good chance of winning - they have the best goalkeeper, defender, and midfielder. If this occurs, it will be a repeat of history.

Chelsea dominated the UEFA Awards in 2008, despite losing to Manchester United in the UCL final. Petr Cech was named best goalkeeper, John Terry was named best defender, and Frank Lampard was named best midfielder.

The only award Chelsea did not win was best striker, which went to Cristiano Ronaldo.

So, if everything goes as planned, Chelsea could reign supreme today, just as they did in 2008. To top it off, Thomas Tuchel is one of the nominees for best coach of the year.

Do you think Chelsea will dominate again today?

Content created and supplied by: Devarsh_Arena (via Opera News )

Chelsea Europe Istanbul UEFA UEFA Awards


Load app to read more comments