Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




UEFA Champions League

2020/2021 Fifa best players of the year for continental award.

France Football released the shortlist of finalists for each of its major 2021 awards: the Ballon d'Or for male players.

Now that the lists are out, the voting process begins.

A selection of international journalists, national team coaches and captains will be polled to determine the winners, with each voter being asked to pick out their top five.

Once that process has been completed, the prestigious prizes will be handed out at a glitzy ceremony in Paris on November 29.

2021 FIFA Ballon d'Or Finalists (Men)

There are a total of 30 finalists with many of the big names you'd expect to see there. In recent months there has been a campaign for Chelsea midfielders Jorginho and N'Golo Kante to win the award given the role they played in Chelsea winning the UEFA Champions League. Jorginho was also a cog in the Italy team that won Euro 2021.

Messi was the last player to win this award in 2019 for a record sixth time. Messi and his eternal rival Ronaldo have shared 11 of the last 12 Ballons d’Or between them, with Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric the only man to have broken their duopoly in 2018.

Ballon d'Or 2021 shortlist announced

Nominees for Ballon d’Or 2021

Romelu Lukaku (Inter Milan, Chelsea)

N'Golo Kante (Chelsea)

Jorginho (Chelsea)

Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)

Mason Mount (Chelsea)

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

Phil Foden (Manchester City)

Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)

Lionel Messi (PSG)

Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG)

Neymar (PSG)

Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)

Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus / Manchester United)

Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)

Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan)

Pedri (Barcelona)

Gerard Moreno (Villarreal)

Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

Simon Kjaer (Milan)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)

Harry Kane (Tottenham)

Who do you think will make it for the ballon d'Or. Please comment, share and follow for more updates from the pitch.

Content created and supplied by: Worthfootball (via Opera News )

Ballon d'Or Chelsea Fifa France Football Jorginho


Load app to read more comments