Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

First FIFA World Cup Winners.

The FIFA World Cup was first held in Uruguay 1930. The inaugural edition, held in 1930, was contested as a final tournament of only thirteen teams invited by the organization. Since then, the World Cup has experienced successive expansions and format remodeling, with its current 32-team final tournament preceded by a two-year qualifying process, involving over 200 teams from around the world.

Uruguay, 13, July,1930

The first time winners of this great tournament were including;

Botasso, Della Torre, Paternoster, J.Evaristo, Suarez, Monti, Peucelle, Varallo, Stabile, Ferreira and M.Evaristo were the first eleven players who represented the country on the World Cup final which was hosted in Uruguay for the first ever World Cup.

Italy, 1934

Planicka, Ctyroky, Zenisek, Combi, Monzeglia, Allemandi, Ferraris, Monti, Bertolini, Orsi, Ferrari, Schiavio, Meazza and Guaita were the winning eleven players who won against the German machines. It was their first time of winning the trophy.

Italy, 1938

Olivieri, Foni, Rava, Locatelli, Andreolo, Serantoni, Colaussi, Pio la, Ferrari, Meazza and Biavati were another great starting eleven to defend the World Cup trophy.

Uruguay, 1950

Maspoli, Tejera, M.Gonzalez, Gambetta, Rodriguez Andrade, Varela, Moran, Schiaffino, Miguez, Perez and and Ghiggia were the players who won the FIFA World Cup for the second time in 1950.

Germany, 1954

Turek, Kohlmeyer, Mai, Liebrich, Posipal, Eckel, F. Walter, Morlock, Schafer, O. Walter and Rahm. This was the very first time the western Germany had won the World Cup.

Brazil, 1958

Pele, Gilmer, Bellini, Orlando, Djalma Santos, Nilton Santos, Didi, Zito, Zagallo, Garrincha and Vava were the first players in the Brazilian national team to win the FIFA World Cup tournament.

Brazil, 1962

In 1962, Brazil were the second country to also defend the World Cup tournament with a couple of great players including; Nilton Santos, Zagallo, Amarildo, Vava, Didi, Zito, Garrincha, Zozimo, Gilmer, Mauro and Djalma Santos.

England, 1966

Hunt, Hurst, Peter's, B.Charlton, Stiles, Ball, Moore, Wilson, Cohen, J. Charlton and Banks were the best players in England to win the Cup for the first time.

Brazil, 1970

Felix, Everaldo, Brito, Piazza, Gerson, Carlos Alberto, Clodoaldo, Jairzinho, Rivelino, Tostao, and Pele. This was the third time that Brazil has won FIFA World.

Germany, 1974

Mailer, Bonhof, Vogts, Beckenbauer, Schwarzenbeck, Breitner, Hoenel, Muller, Grabbowski, and Holzenbein were the starting eleven players to have set another record of winning the tournament for the second time.

Argentina, 1978

Ortiz, Luque, Bertoni, Kempes, Gallego, Ardiles, Tarantini, Passarella, L.Galvan, Olguin and Fillol were Argentina squad who won the World Cup in 1978.

Italy, 1982Rossi, Graziani, Conti, Tardelli, Cabrini, Collovati, Scriea, Oriali, Gentile, Bergomi and Zoff were the 1982 FIFA World Cup winners. At that time, Italy was one of the best teams in the world.

Argentina, 1986

Batista, Valdano, Maradona, Olarcticoechea, Enrique, Burruchaga, Giusti, Rugerri, Brown, Cuciuffo and Pumpido were the starting eleven of the Argentina national team who won the World Cup.

Germany, 1990

Augenthaler, Iiigner, Brhme, Kohler, Buchwald, Berthold, Littbarski, Matthaus, Voller were the most powerful players who won the trophy.

Brazil, 1994

Branco, Marcio Santos, Taffarel, Aldair, Jorginho, Mauro Silva, Dunga, Zinho, Mazinho and Bebeto were the great players who won the World.

France, 1998

Thurman, Leboeuf, Barthez, Desailly, Lizarazu, Deschamps, Petit, Karembeu, Djorkaeff and Zidane were the people who won one of the most memorable World Cup ever which they played against the South American giants Brazil.

Brazil, 2002

R. Junior, Marcos, Lucio, Edmilson, Roberto Carlos, Cafu, Gilberto Silva, Kleberson, Rivaldo, Ronaldinho and Ronaldo were the dangerous team to play against them.

Italy, 2006

Buffon, Grosso, Materazzi, Cannavaro, Zambrotta, Pirlo, Gattuso, Perrotta, Totti, Toni and Camoranesi were the players who led the Italians to victory over France.

Spain, 2010

Xavi, Iniesta, Sergio Ramos, Pique, Puyol, Casilas, David Villa, Sergio, Xavi Alonso and Torres were the 2010 World Cup winner against Chile.

Germany, 2014

Klose, Toni Kroos, Ozil, Thomas Muller, Khedira, Schweinsteiger, Hummels, Boateng, Lahm Howedes and Neuer were the German machines who won the 2014 World Cup against Argentina.

France, 2018

Pogba, Griezmann, Mbappe, Rabiot, Digne, Laporte, Lloris, Varane, Kante, Sidibe and Giroud were the France representative who won the Cup against Croatia.

Content created and supplied by: (via Opera News )

FIFA World Cup FIFA World Cup Winners Uruguay World Cup


Load app to read more comments