Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports





Meet Three Black Stars Players Who Won The Most Prestigious Award In Africa.

The reactions from Ghanaians when CAF released the 30 man's list for the African Awards were mixed as there was no Ghanaian player who made the list. This doesn't mean that Ghanaians are not able to make the list. In fact, there have been some Ghanaians who have gotten nominated and have won the awards several times and in this article, I share with you three Black Stars legends who won the African Player of the Year Award.

Ibrahim Sunday. He was a former Asante Kotoko captain and also a player for the Black Stars of Ghana. He was the first player to win the African Player of the Year award and in his time, it was called the African Ballon D'or. He won the second edition of the competition.

Abdul Razak. He was nicknamed, "Golden Boy" and was the second Ghanaian to win the African Player of the Year Award. He also played Asante Kotoko. He together with Ibrahim Sunday are the only two Ghana Premier League players who have ever won the African Player of the Year Award and they all played Asante Kotoko.

Abedi Pele. He is regarded as the best Ghanaian player in history and he couldn't have possibly ended his career without winning such a prestigious award. He proved that he was the best of the est as he won the award three consecutive seasons thereby increasing Ghana's tally to five. From 1991-1993, the former Olympique Marseille ended the season as the best player in Africa.

Content created and supplied by: Truth_ink (via Opera News )

Abdul Razak African Ballon D'or. African Player African Player of Ibrahim


Load app to read more comments