Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports





List of Countries who won Africa Cup of Nations tournaments and Number of Times for winning

The Africa Cup of Nations is proving as exciting as ever this year as many of world football’s d high profile players compete to help their country lift the trophy.

Host nation Cameroon opened the tournament with a 2-1 win over Burkina Faso while Morocco and Nigeria have started off with big wins over fellow African heavyweights Ghana and Egypt.

The Africa Cup of Nations was first contested in 1957 and there have been 14 different winners of the tournament throughout history.

Here are the teams who have lifted the trophy previously and the current favourites to claim the prize this year:

Egypt are the most successful team in the history of the Africa Cup on Nations, having won the trophy seven times while finishing as runner-up twice and claiming third place on three occasions.

They last won the competition in 2010 and were runners up in 2017 while their first ever win was at the 1957 competition.

This year’s host nation Cameroon are second on the all time list, having won the trophy five times while finishing as runner up twice and coming third once.They last won the trophy in 2017, beating Egypt in the final.

Third on the list are Ghana, they have won the title four times but have not lifted the trophy since 1982.

The Black Stars have finished as runners-up on five occasions, which is more than any other nation, and have came in third place once in 2008.

Algeria are the reigning champions, they won the 2019 competition which was their second ever AFCON victory with their only previous title coming in 1990.

Egypt (7) - 1957, 1959, 1986, 1988, 2006, 2008, 2010

Cameroon (5) - 1984, 1988, 2000, 2002, 2017

Ghana (4) - 1963, 1965, 1978, 1982

Nigeria (3) - 1980, 1994, 2013

Ivory Coast (2) - 1992, 2015

Algeria (2) - 1990, 2019

DR Congo (2) - 1968, 1974

Zambia (1) - 2012

Tunisia (1) - 2004

Sudan (1) - 1970

Ethiopia (1) - 1962

Morocco (1) - 1976

South Africa (1) - 1996

Congo (1) - 1972

Content created and supplied by: GreatAlexander (via Opera News )

Africa Cup Africa Cup of Nations Cameroon Egypt Ghana


Load app to read more comments