Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

Chelsea quartet amongst seven FAWSL stars nominated for Best FIFA Women’s Player

No less than seven players from the Barclays FA Women’s Super League have been nominated for The Best FIFA Women’s Player award for 2021.

Chelsea dominate the English-based nominations with Magda Eriksson, Ji So-yun, Pernille Harder and Sam Kerr selected while Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema has also been included on the 13-player shortlist. Manchester City’s Lucy Bronze and Ellen White make up the seven Barclays FA Women’s Super League representatives, the former being the holder of The Best FIFA Women’s Player award for 2020.

The remaining six nominees for the 2021 FIFA Women's World Player of the Year award are Stena Blacksteinius (BK Haken), Etana Bonmatti (Barcelona), Caroline Graham Hansen (Barcelona), Jennifer Hermoso (Barcelona), Alexia Putillas (Barcelona) and Christine. Sinclair (Portland Thistle).

 Chelsea manager Emma Hayes was shortlisted for the 2021 Women's Coach of the Year award. She was shortlisted alongside Women's Champions League winning coach Luis Curtis, England coach Sarina Wegmann, Olympic gold winner Bev Priestman and Sweden's head coach Peter Gerhardson.

There is also a link to Chelsea's Best Women's Goalkeeper category, alongside the legendary blues Hedvig Lindah, who has been nominated for the first-choice skier Ankatrimberger. Christiane Endler (Lyon), Stephanie Labe (Paris Saint-Germain) and Alyssa Naehar (Chicago Red Stars) are the finalists.

 Fans can vote for their favorites on until midnight on December 10, 2021, and the winners will be announced at the virtual awards ceremony on January 17, 2022.

Content created and supplied by: bryntguggisberg (via Opera News )

Best FIFA Women Chelsea Ellen White Lucy Bronze Sam Kerr


Load app to read more comments