Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

FIFA announces 14 players as contenders for The Best Men's Player awards in 2022

The Best Men's Player 2022 consists of Julian Alvarez, Jude Bellingham, Karim Benzema, Kevin De Bruyne, Erling Halland, Achraf Hakimi Robert Lewandowski, Sadio Mane, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi, Luka Modric, Neymar, Mohamed Salah and Vinicius Junior.

The 2022 FIFA World Cup will serve as the benchmark for this year's award, which will be given based on performances from the start of the 2021/22 season to its conclusion. Unsurprisingly, Lionel Messi is the most notable name on the shortlist after leading Argentina to victory in Qatar. Robert Lewandowski, who has also been nominated again, won the prize the previous year, and he came in second.

Julian Alvarez of Manchester City has been nominated for The Best accolade, joining Messi as a member of Argentina's team. Kevin De Bruyne and Erling Haaland, the forward's clubmates, are also included on the shortlist.

Only Mohamed Salah of Liverpool, who plays his club football in England, is another nominee; Sadio Mane, a former teammate who is now a member of Bayern Munich, is also on the shortlist.

Messi isn't the only PSG star to receive a nomination; Kylian Mbappe, Neymar, and Achraf Hakimi have all received nods. Luka Modric, Vinicius Junior, and Ballon d'Or winner Karim Benzema are three of the players from Real Madrid, the reigning European champion. The youngest player on the shortlist is Jude Bellingham, a midfielder for Borussia Dortmund and England who is 19 years old.

Content created and supplied by: Selwyn (via Opera News )

Erling Halland FIFA Karim Benzema Kylian Mbappe Luka Modric


Load app to read more comments