Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports

 

Soccer

 

FIFA World Cup

England Second Goal Should Have Been Disallowed Because Of This FIFA Rule (Detailed)

Thank you for opening this interesting article, enjoy your reading.

There were some controversies after the England and Denamark semi-final match in Wembley.

Football enthusiast were concerned about the penalty awarded on Jamaican born England international Raheem Sterling and double ball on the pitch leading to the infringement.

Let us boost our facts on the controversy by looking at what the rules says.

Page 69 of the FIFA rules state that “If an extra ball, other object or animal enters the field of play during the match, the referee must stop the match only if it interferes with play.

Play must be restarted by a dropped ball from the position of the match ball when play was stopped, unless play was stopped inside the goal area, in which case the referee drops the ball on the goal area line parallel to the goal line at the point nearest to where the ball was located when play was stopped.”

The rule continues that “If an extra ball, other object or animal enters the field of play during the match without interfering with play, the referee must have it removed at the earliest possible opportunity.”

I would say the Referee or the lines man should have taken the second ball away quickly before any confusion.


Thank you for reading and don't forget to follow my handle for more interesting articles on the game of football.

Content created and supplied by: Nazeef69 (via Opera News )

Denamark England FIFA Jamaican

COMMENTS

Load app to read more comments