Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




La Liga

Matters Arising After The 'Ballon d'Or', Will Lewandowski Be Awarded The 2020 'Ballon d'Or' Award?

The 2021 Ballon d'Or which was held on Monday was the 65th annual ceremony of the Ballon d'Or, presented by France Football, and recognising the best footballers in the world in 2021. There has been a lot of controversies everywhere after the ceremony.

After Lionel Messi was awarded the Ballon d’Or award at the just ended ceremony. Social media was divided into two after some insisted that Robert Lewandowski deserved it more.

Indeed with his stats and that of Messi, he deserved the apex award at the ceremony adding his performance from 2020 to 2021. He ended up 2nd with the best striker award.

A lot of football experts and personalities have had their say on the issue, Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Toni Kross, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and many more have all had their say on the Ballon d'Or issue.

Lionel Messi after winning the award suggested that, the France Football should consider awarding Robert Lewandowski the 2020 Ballon d'Or and this is what he said; "I'd like to mention Robert, it's been a real honour to compete with him. I think France Football should award you your 2020 Ballon d'Or, you deserved it".

Remember, because of the Covid19 pandemic, there was no Ballon d'Or in 2020. So now, many are calling out the France Football to consider giving the 2020 Ballon d'Or to Lewandowski if he wasn't given the award this year because he has really worked hard in this year and the previous year

France Football editor-in-chief Pascal Ferré doesn't want to rule out the possibility of retrospectively handing the 2020 Ballon d'Or to Robert Lewandowski. This is what he said; "We don't have to rush this decision. We can think about it long and hard. We can't be sure whether Lewandowski would have won the Ballon d'Or last year because there was no vote".Do you think they should consider giving him the 2020 Ballon d'Or award?





Content created and supplied by: MdkBanahene (via Opera News )

Ballon d'Or Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Robert Lewandowski Toni Kross


Load app to read more comments