Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




La Liga

Check out the 2022 Ballon dOr Nominees list. Some top footballers have been excluded.

Since 1956, the Ballon d'Or has been presented annually by the French weekly magazine France Football.

In an arrangement with FIFA, the award was temporarily amalgamated with the FIFA World Player of the Year (established in 1991) and called as the FIFA Ballon d'Or between 2010 and 2015. That relationship terminated in 2016, and the trophy reverted to the Ballon d'Or, while FIFA reverted to its own independent annual award.

The Best FIFA Men's Player. Both award organizations consider joint FIFA Ballon d'Or winners.

The finalists for the 2022 men's Ballon d'Or have been released by France Football, with the world finest player scheduled to be honored during an official presentation event in October.

Following are the various players and their countries;

1. Thibaut Courtois - Belgium

2. Rafael Leão - Portugal

3. Christopher Nkunku - France

4. Mohamed Salah - Egypt

5. Joshua Kimmich - Germany

6. Trent Alexander-Arnold - England

7. Vinicius JR - Brazil

8. Bernardo Silva - Portugal

9. Luis Díaz - Colombia

10. Robert Lewandowski - Poland

11. Riyad Mahrez - Algeria

12. Casemiro Carlos - Brazil

13. Heung-Min Son – South Korea

14. Fabinho Tavares - Brazil

15. Karim Benzema - France

16. Mike Maignan - France

17. Harry Kane - England

18. Darwin Núñez - Uruguay

19. Phil Foden - England

20. Sadio Mané - Senegal

21. Sébastien Haller – Ivory Coast

22. Luka Modrić - Croatia

23. Antonio Rüdiger - Germany

24. Cristiano Ronaldo – Portugal

25. Kevin De Bruyne - Belgium

26. Dušan Vlahović - Serbia

27. Virgil van Dijk - Netherland

28. João Cancelo - France

29. Kylian Mbappé - France

30. Erling Haaland - Norway

Lionel Messi and Neymar of Paris Saint-Germain, however, are not included on the shortlist. For the first time since 2005, Messi, who has won the award seven times overall, is not included on the list.

Credit: France Football

Content created and supplied by: NokobiTV (via Opera News )

Ballon Ballon d'Or FIFA FIFA World Player of the Year French


Load app to read more comments