Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

How a South African Refree Prevented Ghana From the 2018 World Cup

In 2018 Ghana needed a win against Ugandan team to qualified for the world cup,South African referee Daniel Bennett disallowed Daniel Amartey clear goal. Ghana wrote to F.I.F.A but to no avail.

2021 same Amartey won a penalty for Ghana and South Africa has written to F.I.F.A , Several People have attributed it to Karma explaining that the Incident happened on the 90 Minutes including extra time which was 4 Minutes, the Extra time read, 3 Minutes 34 Seconds before the Goal went into the net.

Raphael Dwamena was shocked by then after Daniel Amartey stroke the ball into the back of the net.

Several South Africans have agitated against the Penalty given to Ghana on the 14th of November 2021, the Game was played at the Cape Coast Stadium and the result Ghana had give them the nod to progress to the playoffs of the Fifa 2022 world cup qualification gearing Ghana towards the World Cup.

Ghana had 13 Points and was successful even though South Africa also had 13 Points because Ghana had more Goals, Ghana had a 1-1 draw against Ethiopia whilst south Africa had a 0-0 draw against Zimbabwe in the Group matches, this gave Ghana opportunity over south Africa.

The South African Football Association has written to FIFA to investigate the development and call for a rematch but there are factors to consider, firstly, was it really a penalty, yes it was because the south African player was spotted holding Amartey on the shoulder, he quickly picked his hand up when he noticed the refree spotted him.

The evidence was shown by GTV Sports plus on their Social Media handle.

What has happened to Ghana's Game Against Uganda in 2018 Since Ghana Submitted the Issue to Fifa for redress in 2018, the issue has since not been addressed till today.

Content created and supplied by: (via Opera News )

Daniel Amartey Daniel Bennett Ethiopia Ghana Raphael Dwamena


Load app to read more comments