Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports





Togo, Morocco leads Africa’s representatives, Ghana misses out

The governing body, FIFA, has published the list of officiating officials for the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023. 

The officials were drawn from the six confederations. In all, the FIFA Referees’ Committee selected 33 Referees, 55 Assistant Referees and 19 Video Match Officials. 

According to the list, Africa has four representatives among the Referees and six in the list of the Assistant Referees.

Africa’s representative among the Referees include; Amedome Vicentia from Togo, Karboubi Bouchra of Morocco, Makalima Akhona and Mukansanga Salima from the Republic of South Africa and Rwanda respectively. 

Meanwhile, Morocco have been awarded two slots among the Assistant Referees following the appointment of Hamdi Soukaini and Jermoumi Fatiha. Others are Atezambong Fomo Carine of Cameroon, Kone Fanta, Njoroge Mary and Victoire Queency of Mali, Kenya and Mauritius respectively.

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup is the first to have been hosted by two nations. The tournament kicks off on July 20, 2023 and ends on August 2023. In all, 10 venues will be used for the games with the opening match between New Zealand and Norway. 

The tournament is also the first time 32 teams will be participating. Already, four African countries under the Confederation of African Football (CAF); Nigeria, South Africa and debutants Morocco and Zambia have sealed qualifications. 

Content created and supplied by: KingQill (via Opera News )

Africa FIFA FIFA Referees Committee Ghana Mukansanga Salima


Load app to read more comments