Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




La Liga

JUST IN: Lionel Messi Wins Best Player Of The Year Award

Leo Messi has been named Ballon d'Or winner by France Football, beating the likes of Jorginho (Chelsea), Bayern Munich's Robert Lewandowski (Real Madrid), and Karim Benzema (Real Madrid). In fairness, the PSG newcomer's performances since the beginning of the year are enough to warrant him receiving the award.

As a result, Lionel Messi has won the Ballon D'Or award for the seventh time, making him the all-time leader in that category. Six years in a row he's been named the best player in the world by Sports Illustrated. No doubt, the Argentine wizard continues to demonstrate why he is the world's greatest footballer.

Given the amount of support he's received, it's safe to say that Roberto Lewandowski will take home the Ballon D'Or. Lionel Messi, on the other hand, outperformed him and was thus named the winner under Mauricio Pochettino. It is possible that the Polish footballer needs to improve his game in order to win the FIFA World Player of the Year award before he retires.

According to the statistics, Bayern Munich's forward scored 54 goals (9 penalties) and 8 assists, while PSG's footballer had 40 goals (4 penalties) and 14 assists. Aside from the Copa America victory and more MOTM awards Messi won, he helped Argentina win the tournament for the first time in 28 years. Meanwhile, Lewandowski was knocked out of Euro 2020's group stage. The Argentine clearly deserves the Ballon d'Or in 2021, given the circumstances.

Because winning the Ballon D'Or award seven times isn't a child's play, a new generation of footballers may not be able to break the record. As a result, he is arguably the greatest player of all time in the history of the sport. France Football announced today that Lionel Messi will be the winner of the Ballon d'Or in 2021

Is Lionel Messi the greatest soccer player of all time?

Please share your thoughts in the space provided.

Content created and supplied by: Brownzy_Writer (via Opera News )

Ballon d'Or Leo Messi Lionel Messi Real Madrid Roberto Lewandowski


Load app to read more comments