Sign in
Download Opera News App






CK Akonnor Names squad for Afcon Qualifiers; Partey, Ayew brothers out.

Black Stars Head Coach C. K Akonnor has named a 29-man crew for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe. 

Black Stars 

The group is a combination of locally situated and other people who play abroad. 

Mentor Akonnor who has been preparing with locally situated parts in Accra for as long as about a month has chosen Nine of those players for the two pivotal games. 

They incorporate Gladson Awako, Joseph Esso, Ismael Ganiyu, Razak Abalora, Eric Ofori Antwi and Kwame Opoku. 

Black Satellites triplet, Danlad Ibrahim, Philemon Baffuor and Abdul Fatawu Issahaku have likewise been named. 

In the squad are Stephen Ambrosius of Hamburger SV in Germany, Kamal Sowah of OH Leuven in Belgium, Kwasi Okyere Wriedt of Willem II in Holland, Kwame Afriyie Opoku of Colchester United, Osman Bukari of Gent and Emmanuel Gyasi of Spezia FC in Italy. 

Ghana will take on South Africa on March 25 in Johannesburg prior to connecting with Sao Tome and Principe on March 29, 2021 at the Accra Sports arena. 

The Black Stars sit at the highest point of Group C with 9 focuses and are looking for one of the passes to the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon. 

The squad

Goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Orlando Pirates – South Africa), Razak Abalora (Asante Kotoko - Ghana), Eric Ofori Antwi (Medeama SC - Ghana), Danlad Ibrahim (Asante Kotoko-Ghana) 

Full Backs: Baba Abdul Rahman (PAOK – Greece), Gideon Mensah (Vitória de Guimarães – Portugal), Benson Annan (MLK Zilina – Slovakia), Philemon Baffuor (Dreams FC – Ghana) 

Central Defenders: Nicholas Opoku (Amiens SC – France), Kasim Nuhu (1899 Hoffenheim – Germany), Ganiyu Ismael (Asante Kotoko – Ghana), Stephen Ambrosius (Hamburger SV – Germany) 

Focal Midfield: Kudus Mohammed (Ajax Amsterdam – Holland), Mubarak Wakaso (Jiangsu Suning F.C - China), Afriyie Acquah (Yeni Malatyaspor - Turkey), Emmanuel Lomotey (Amiens SC - France), Iddrisu Baba (RCD Mallorca – Spain), Gladson Awako (Great Olympics - Ghana), Kwame Afriyie Poku (Colchester United – England) 

Left Attacking Midfield: Osman Bukari (Gent – Belgium), Joseph Esso (Dreams FC-Ghana) 

Right Attacking Midfield: Kamal Sowah (OH Leuven-Belgium), Fatawu Issahaku (Steadfast FC – Ghana) 

Attackers:Emmanuel Boateng (Dalian Professional-China), Emmanuel Gyasi (Spezia – Italy), Kwame Opoku (Asante Kotoko – Ghana), John Antwi (Pyramids FC – Egypt), Kwasi Okyere Wriedt (Willem II – Holland), Caleb Ekuban (Trabzonspor – Turkey)

Content created and supplied by: Officialbuzzgh (via Opera News )

Abdul Fatawu Issahaku Danlad Ibrahim Eric Ofori Antwi Philemon Baffuor Razak Abalora


Load app to read more comments