Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports

 

Soccer

 

AFCON

Controversy regarding Ghana's penalty arises: Was it really a penalty?

Ghana's battle to announcing herself on the biggest stage in 2022 has finally come to an end. Just as we thought all was tearing apart, hope emerged through our teary eyes. Ghana black stars stepped up once again with a one goal project as they overpowered South Africa in the Cape Coast sports stadium this evening.

Right before the match, South Africa was three points ahead of Ghana. There was only one thing which was to be done, Ghana just had to win. Thanks be to God, a controversial penalty in the first half was converted into a goal by the captain of the side.

Even though, Ghana was leading by a goal to nil, Ghanaians just couldn't stay calm since it was very risky. South Africa could have scored at any moment thereby rendering Ghana's goal useless. It was all fear till the final whistle of the referee was blown.

Ghana is finally through to the world cup playoffs after topping Group G. We are once more going to hear the national anthem of our country being played in the world cup.

Even though we have qualified, a controversy has risen out of the game. Some claim the foul was a soft one and hence, the referee shouldn't have awarded a penalty to the black stars. There is a debate currently ongoing on the social media.

"Penalty" is currently trending on Twitter and many people really want to understand why that penalty was awarded to the winning team. This is what some netizens had to say

Do you think that push was really harsh to call for a penalty?

Content created and supplied by: the_Kelvin_guy (via Opera News )

Ghana Ghanaians South Africa

COMMENTS

Load app to read more comments